Search Results: 103 books from 18 publishers. Learn more

Not For Sale

Sara Cassidy (author) Helen Flook (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459807204

When ten-year-old Cyrus sees a For Sale sign plunged into his front lawn, it’s a complete and utter disaster. Usually, his younger brother, Rudy, is the scaredy-cat, but for the first time in his life, Cyrus is terrified. He’s lived at 637 Petunia Boulevard since he came to live with his adoptive mom and dad at two months old. Won’t he go hurtling into outer space without these four familiar walls to hold him in? Luckily, Cyrus has a few sneaky tricks up his sleeve to stop this moving business before it even gets started.

Tales of Honor

Dixie Saylor (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990290

Offers young readers a look at Beowulf, Sir Gawain, Roland, and other heroes of epic and chivalry.

Tales of Courage

L.L. Owens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990207

Includes The Little Dutch Boy, The Little Match Girl, Jack the Giant Killer, and Trieste.

The Scaredy-Cat Kitten

Roz Rosenbluth (author) Deborah Borgo (illustrator)

Publisher: Twin Sisters ISBN: 9781625817877

Mother cat has two very different kittens. Herbie is curious and brave. But his sister Sarah is afraid of everything. When the kittens go for a walk Sarah is even afraid of her own shadow. Find out what happens when Herbie gets caught in briars and Sarah needs to go get Mother for help. A positive ending adds interest to this adorable story and encourages a lifelong love for reading.

The Adventures of Spot: Hungry, Hungry Spot

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374571

Spot is hungry but can't find anything to eat. Spot buries his biscuit to keep it safe. Spot sniffs around outside to capture different scents. Spot hears his favorite sound… dinner! Spot enjoys different times of day. Stories by Marileta Robinson.

Top Fin: Dolphin Dives

Addie Meyer Sanders (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990009

Kelly, one of a group of students with special needs chosen to participate in Dolphin Dives, finds her voice again after not speaking for three years when one of the animals is threatened by a very angry boy.

T.J. Westin, Man of the House

Linda Sibley (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849958

T.J. can't believe it when he wins a trip to New York to be a contestant on Whiz Kid. Will he make his family proud?

For Honey

Bonnie Highsmith Taylor (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849507

After being sent from one foster home to another, Patrick finally settles in with the Kellys, where he learns the meaning of trust and how to love when he rescues and takes care of a skunk he names Honey, who was caught in a trap.

Gypsy in the Cellar

Bonnie Highsmith Taylor (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849569

Doreen, a young Gypsy girl, struggles with both her own prejudices and those of others when she becomes separated from her family and is cared for by two sisters who insist she attend school regularly.

Javier's Dream

Linda Sibley (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849606

After seeing Javier on the other side of the Rio Grande in Mexico, Michael starts to write him letters and then helps Javier cross the river to come into the United States.

Courage on the Causeway

Sarah Beurskens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849330

Gabby must find the courage to help rescue her classmate Jennifer, a girl who had teased Gabby in the past, from a dangerous causeway on top of a mountain trail.

Tiger Boy

Mitali Perkins (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607346647

When a tiger cub goes missing from the reserve, Neil is determined to find her before the greedy Gupta gets his hands on her to kill her and sell her body parts on the black market. Neil's parents, however, are counting on him to study hard and win a prestigious scholarship to study in Kolkata. Neil doesn't want to leave his family or his island home and he struggles with his familial duty and his desire to maintain the beauty and wildness of his island home in West Bengal's Sunderbans.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Priceless Gifts

Martha Hamilton, Mitch Weiss (author), John Kanzler (illustrator)

Publisher: August House ISBN: 9780874837889

A humorous retelling of an Italian tale in which a Genoese merchant, richly rewarded for solving an irritating problem for the king of the Spice Islands, causes a greedy rival to try and gain a fortune in the same way.

Pateándolo (Kickin It)

Meg Greve (author) Alida Ruggeri (illustrator)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781683422679

Luis knows he is the best soccer player at his school because he always scores the most goals. Now he gets to play on a really team! He can’t wait to show his teammates and coach how good he is. The problem is, no one seems impressed. In fact, they seem like they don’t want him on the field. Can Luis show his team that he’s a team player before the big game? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter make them perfect first chapter books for young readers. • Realistic fiction • Back matter • Addresses social and emotional concepts

Mystery of the Pink Owl Flu

Jessica Anderson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305808

Romy was having a bad morning. To top it off he didn’t get to be Nurse Strongman’s assistant because he was late to school. He felt really bad for letting Nurse Strongman down but maybe he could make it up to him! A new case just FLEW into his lap: who turned the owl mascot pink? Romy, hoping to solve the case alone, quickly accuses many of his friends without having all his facts. Can Romy solve the case and keep his friends? Will he make his parents and Nurse Strongman proud? These mysteries are perfectly suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, they are just the right fit for your early fluent reader. Paired to the nonfiction title Skills for School Success.

Evan in the Middle

Kelli Hicks (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305693

Being in the middle can be hard. Evan is in the middle of his family and he doesn’t know where he fits in. He’s too small to play with his older brothers but too big to play with his younger brother and sister. He just wants to be big. Being big will make everything better – right? Paired to the nonfiction title Your Family Tree.

Jaylah's Jitters

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305709

Jaylah’s family is thrilled that everyone will be together soon in Florida. Except Jaylah. Thinking about what will happen when she gets there is making her tummy feels like it’s full of buzzing bees. That’s why she decides to make a plan that will get her out of the whole scary affair. But will her plan ruin everything for the people she loves? Paired to the nonfiction title Everyone Visits Family.

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

Case of the Sabotaged Spaghetti

Jessica Anderson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305792

Klaude is the class clown. He likes to make people laugh but not everyone finds him funny. The Golden Spoon Award is given to students who display proper lunchroom behavior and Klaude is one of the winners! He’s never won anything in his life! But not everyone is excited and they are showing it. During the special luncheon someone sabotages his spaghetti, takes a bite out of his cake, and breaks his first trophy ever. Who would be so mean to him? Why is someone so mad at Klaude for winning the Golden Spoon Award? More importantly, will he get a new slice of cake? These mysteries are perfect for your early fluent reader. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, these are suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. Paired to the nonfiction title STEM Guides to Food and Nutrition.

The Well of Truth: a folktale from Egypt

Martha Hamilton, Mitch Weiss (author), Tom Wrenn (illustrator)

Publisher: August House ISBN: 9780874838800

When Goat, Rooster, and Donkey decide to try their hand at farming, Donkey learns the price of being greedy and discovers that the truth will always come out in the end.

Pirates in the Library

Nadia Ali (author)Jake Tebbit (illustrator)

Publisher: Star Bright Books ISBN: 9781595725486

Prepare to set sail for the adventure of a lifetime with fierce Captain Jack when he discovers a treasure map that leads him, his crew (and a parrot, too) right to the library. Mrs. Benitez, the libarian, welcomes them - as long as they behave! The pirates' search is on!

The Good Ship Crocodile

J. Patrick Lewis (author), Monique Felix (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566603003

A crocodile named Snout assists his animal neighbors by ferrying them across a swollen river, then is repaid for his good deeds when he is in need of help.

Review It! Helping Peers Create Their Best Work

Kristin Fontichiaro (author), Kathleen Petelinsek (illustrator)

Publisher: Cherry Lake Publishing ISBN: 9781631888892

Learn how to review other people's work and provide constructive advice with these fun activities. Students will practice giving tactful critiques, a foundational skill that will benefit them both academically and personally. Additional text features and search tools, including a glossary and an index, help students locate information and learn new words.

Book 1: First Dance

Lea Taddonio (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781624021923

Lola Jones does not think her big brother’s best friend and basketball teammate, C.J Kline, knows she’s alive. Until one magical night at a high school dance changes everything. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Spellbound is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.