Search Results: 142 books from 18 publishers. Learn more

Timberwolf Chase

Sigmund Brouwer (author), Dean Griffiths (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781551435480

Lots of hockey action and hijinks. Johnny Maverick and his friends play for the Timberwolves peewee hockey team in the small town of Howling. Tom Morgan has just moved from Toronto and is a talented player. Tom is also very competitive and seems determined to pick on Stu Duncan, who is slightly overweight. Johnny suggests a race between Tom and Stu. Tom eagerly accepts; Stu is reluctant but Johnny convinces him to trust his best friend's advice. On race day Tom is surprised by both the race and its outcome and learns that teamwork pays off. The Howling Timberwolves series of Orca Echoes early chapter books offer lots of sports action and humour that will appeal to young boys.

One Smile

Cindy McKinley (author), Mary Gregg Byrne (illustrator)

Publisher: Illumination Arts ISBN: 9780935699234

Even the smallest acts of kindness can impact the lives of others. This truth is beautifully demonstrated as we follow the far-reaching effects of a little girl's compassionate smile, as it touches an entire community.

Surfer Dog

Eric Walters (author) Eugenie Fernandes (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459814363

What is the true meaning of friendship? Follow along as a boy meets up with his friend - a dog who faithfully waits for him every day so they can ride out to the beach together to surf. The boy doesn't own the dog and he doesn't know who does, but their daily routine has created a special bond. Award-winning author Eric Walters navigates the waters of a unique friendship alongside the vibrant illustrations of Eugenie Fernandes, who brings the bumpy roads, rugged beach paths and rolling waves of the tropics to life. Sometimes the most poignant relationships in a child's life are the ones between friends.

The Three Little Worms

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374779

Little worms! Squirmy Wormy and Mortimer are three little worms who know how to have big fun! See what happens when they play jump rope, or when they enter a talent contest. What will they get up to next? Stories by David L. Roper.

The Adventures of Spot: Time for a Nap

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374540

Time for a nap! Spot tries to find a peaceful place to nap. On a sunny day, Spot naps in the shade. Playing with a new toy can be exhausting for a puppy like Spot. Spot wants to take a nap but Splinter wants to play. A fly disturbs Spot as he tries to nap. Stories by Marileta Robinson and Highlights for Children.

The Gotcha Plot

Margo Sorenson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849552

Two boys harassed by a group of rowdy kids at school get their revenge when they stumble into the school custodian's cleaning closet and find something very unusual.

What's the Trick?

Caroline E. Walsh (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990054

A chance friendship with an elderly ex-magician helps Jared come to terms with the tensions in his own family.

Summer Friends

Jane Porter Meier (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849910

Cassie, who is spending the summer with her aunt while her parents go through a divorce, becomes friends with Joey, a boy in a wheelchair who lives nearby with his grandmother.

Courage on the Causeway

Sarah Beurskens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849330

Gabby must find the courage to help rescue her classmate Jennifer, a girl who had teased Gabby in the past, from a dangerous causeway on top of a mountain trail.

Danny and Abby Play Hospital

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624105

Danny and Abby take turns being the doctor and nurse when they play hospital with Bee.

A Fish Story

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624051

Meet Fish. He lives in a fish bowl and eats fish food. He has a friend, Danny, who peeks in on Fish… and Fish peeks back.

Danny is a Big Dog

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624921

Danny has a new friend named Penny. Danny is a big dog, while Penny is a little dog … a little dog with a big personality.

Pirate Fish

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624150

There’s something new in Fish’s bowl. It is a treasure chest filled with gold that has Fish acting like a pirate.

Norman is a Superhero

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781625441614

Danny, Norman and Bee are invited to a superhero party. Which superhero will Norman be for the party?

Danny and Heather Share

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9780972029582

Danny shares toy with his friend, Heather

Danny, Norman and the Turtle

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781625441348

Danny and Norman find a big turtle in the yard.

Danny and the Little Worm

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9780974647562

Danny finds a little worm and worries for its safety. Dad helps find him a safe home.

Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring

Rebecca Bond (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580895941

In this early reader with five short chapters, emerging readers meet Pig and Goose. Pig is happy. She loves to dance. She loves to eat. But she cannot fly. And she cannot swim. Goose can fly like a bird. Goose can glide across the water beautifully. But he cannot tell stories or host a party like Pig can. Pig and Goose are very different. But what they do have in common is that they like each other. And they love springtime. Simple text and charming illustrations guide beginning readers throughout the story and encourage independent reading.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Freereads badge Free for 4 more days

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Honey Bear's Blue Bathing Suit

Todd H. Doodler (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609052034

Honey Bear is having a summertime birthday party at the beach. After her friends choose the perfect birthday presents - a blue swimsuit and beach-y accessories - they head to the shore for volleyball, a scavenger hunt, and, of course, birthday cake! Young readers will enjoy best-selling author/illustrator Todd Goldman's signature style and familiar characters, this time in a summer setting. Bear in Blue Bathing Suit is a perfect addition to Bear in Underwear, Bear in Pink Underwear, and Bear in Long Underwear.

Secret of the School Suitor

Jessica Anderson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305785

Divya’s day started out rough. She almost missed the bus and had a rough ride to school. Divya knew that her rough day was nothing compared to what Bus Driver McCool was going through. He never forgot Divya or drove like a race car driver. Something was up. Determined to find out answers and help, Divya follows Bus Driver McCool. What she finds out is not at all what she thought. These mysteries are perfect for your early fluent reader. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, these are suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. Paired to the nonfiction title Winning by Giving.

Case of Foul Play on a School Day

Jessica Anderson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305815

Queeneka loves fashion, and a good mystery. So when there were missing kickball at Watson Elementary she was on the case! Who would take the kickballs? Why is Mr. Hambrick giving her the evil eye? And why are fourth graders so mean? Making a new friend along the way, Queeneka and Keely question suspects, encounter giant fourth graders, and learn that everyone is embarrassed about something. These mysteries are perfectly suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, they are just the right fit for your early fluent reader. Paired to the nonfiction title Everyone Goes to School.

Case of the Uncrackable Code

Kyla Steinkraus (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305839

Even though Rocket is the fastest kid in third grade, his dyslexia makes him a slow reader. When he finds coded notes, Rocket knows he needs the help of his friends, the Gumshoe Gang. Together they try crack the secret messages but kind they are stuck. Can the Gumshoe gang crack this case? Is Mrs. Flores in danger? And is the new computer teacher really an alien? These mysteries are perfect for your early fluent reader. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, these are suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. Paired to the nonfiction title Wining by Working.

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Freereads badge Free for 2 more days

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

Wild Ride: A Graphic Guide Adventure

Liam O'Donnell (author), Michael Deas (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781551437569

The first installment in the new Graphic Guide Adventure Series. Devin, Nadia and Marcus are on their way to visit their environmentalist parents who are working to stop a logging company from clear-cutting a remote valley. When their plane crashes and the pilot is killed, the kids are left to survive in the wild with Wiley, a government bureaucrat, who is the only other passenger on the plane. Learning to build a shelter and make a fire in the woods, they discover that Wiley is working with the logging company and will do anything to stop the secret getting out. On the run and in mortal danger, the three must outrun Wiley, escape a raging forest fire and outwit a hungry grizzly bear to make it to safety.