Search Results: 241 books from 11 publishers. Learn more

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401978

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen if Snow White took her amazing cleaning and organizing skills and applied them to business. In this fun and beautifully-illustrated story, Snow White takes control of her own fate and improves the lives of everyone around her, without any help from a prince. This fairy tale retelling is a short chapter book suitable as a read aloud or for young, advanced readers. It's perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin's Catwings or Ruth Stiles Gannett's My Father's Dragon.

Lost Dog

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton, Katherine Hood-Tatara (illustrators)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781925442017

Dad finds a homemade sign on the front door from Amy, a girl in the neighborhood, saying that her dog, Spot, is lost. Danny and Norman decide to become canine detectives and use their noses to search for Spot.

Billy Stuart and the Sea of a Thousand Dangers

Alain M. Bergeron (author) Sampar (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459823440

What was supposed to be a relaxing ocean crossing for Billy Stuart and his friends after their adventures on the island of Crete quickly transforms into a veritable odyssey. A violent storm throws them off their maritime course and leads to a downpour of events with potentially tragic consequences: mutiny, vicious monster attacks, siren songs and more. The dire situation doesn't get any better when they finally make it to shore. A thousand dangers make the Zintrepids' every waking moment seem like a nightmare. And is Billy Stuart still on the trail of his grandfather, the explorer Virgil Stuart who has traveled through time? Or are the Zintrepids forever lost in an unknown age and strange place? Brightly illustrated and enhanced with games and puzzles throughout, Billy Stuart and the Sea of One Thousand Dangers is the third title in the Billy Stuart Adventures series, following Billy Stuart and the Zintrepids and Billy Stuart in the Minotaur's Lair.

Cougar Frenzy

Pamela McDowell (author) Kasia Charko (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459820654

When Cricket McKay and her best friend, Shilo, discover that a cougar has been seen in the town of Waterton, they are thrilled that school closes for a few days as a precaution. The townspeople are worried though. They want the cougar caught and relocated, which could be disastrous for the cougar. Cricket's dad, the national park's warden, is receiving reports of the cougar causing all kinds of trouble around town, but it's the type of trouble it doesn't make sense for a cougar to get into. Then Cricket and Shilo find evidence that another animal may be to blame. With the help of a visiting researcher who is in Waterton studying cougar behavior, Cricket and Shilo must convince the townspeople, and Cricket's dad, that they're after the the wrong animal before it’s too late. This is the fourth title featuring Cricket and her friends, following Bats in Trouble, Ospreys in Danger and Salamander Rescue.

Ruckus

Laurie Elmquist (author) David Parkins (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459817968

Reece's new dog, Ruckus, tears through life like a Tyrannosaurus rex. He bites everything that moves and drives Reece's mom nuts. The puppy was Dad's idea, to make things easier for Reece after his parents' separation, but Ruckus is not easy at all and Mom is getting fed up. When her diamond earrings go missing, it sends the family into a tailspin. What happens when a dog swallows something precious? Reece is about to find out. But they can't give up on this little Jack Russell terror, can they? He's family, after all. We first met Reece and his family in the Orca Echoes title Where's Burgess? by Laurie Elmquist.

The Mystery of the Too Crisp Cash

M.J. Cosson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613847824

The Koots are on the trail of a counterfeiter after Ben and Toby are questioned by Officer Gomez about passing a fake twenty-dollar bill.

Ghost Detectors Book 7: Pop!

Dotti Enderle (author), Howard Mc William (illustrator)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781616417598

Malcolm and Dandy have added a new gadget to their ghost hunting gear--XSpecs! These miraculous glasses are supposed to have Xray vision, but all they seem to do is hypnotize whoever looks at them. This comes in handy when the boys battle some vicious bubblegum that's snuck into their Halloween treats. But who's controlling the creeping confection? It'll take all of the ghost detecting tools to pop this case.

Not For Sale

Sara Cassidy (author) Helen Flook (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459807204

When ten-year-old Cyrus sees a For Sale sign plunged into his front lawn, it’s a complete and utter disaster. Usually, his younger brother, Rudy, is the scaredy-cat, but for the first time in his life, Cyrus is terrified. He’s lived at 637 Petunia Boulevard since he came to live with his adoptive mom and dad at two months old. Won’t he go hurtling into outer space without these four familiar walls to hold him in? Luckily, Cyrus has a few sneaky tricks up his sleeve to stop this moving business before it even gets started.

The Mystery of the Flying Mummy

M.J. Cosson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613847732

The Koots investigate the appearance of a flying cloth-bound object that looks exactly like a mummy.

Tales of Enchantment

Karen Berg Douglas (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990238

Offers young readers a look at four magical stories from the "Arabian Nights" and Scandinavia.

Tales of Fate

Paula J. Reece (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990245

Offers young readers a look at the powers of fate and how they effect human lives as seen in a Greek myth and in stories by Saki, Frank R. Stockton, Anton Chekhov, and Guy de Maupassant.

Tales of Fright

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990252

Offers young readers a look at scary stories, including "The Fall of the House of Usher," "The Canterville Ghost," and "The Monkey's Paw."

Tales of Heroes

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990283

Offers young readers a look at Jason, King Arthur, and other heroes of myth, history, and literature.

Tales of Honor

Dixie Saylor (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990290

Four stories about honorable people, people who keep promises, who respect and help others, who possess excellent character, and who show courage in the face of great danger.

Tales of Latin America

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990313

Extend cultural boundaries with this collection of fantastic folktales and legends from Latin America.

Tales of Louisa May Alcott

L.L. Owens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990320

Offers young readers a look at another side of the author of "Little Women" in stories about the American Revolution and the New England settlers and the Indians, as well as fairy tales of a gift from the elves and a boy who shared a most unusual Thanksgiving feast.

Tales of Mark Twain

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990337

Offers young readers a look at Mark Twain's distinctive sense of humor as revealed in tales of the old West, Missouri, and medieval Europe.

Tales of Mystery

L.L. Owens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990344

Offers young readers retellings of works by Arthur Conan Doyle, Mary Wilkins Freeman, Mrs. Molesworth, and Nathaniel Hawthorne.

Tales of O. Henry

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990368

Offers young readers a look at stories that end with surprising changes from the works of O. Henry.

Tales of Rudyard Kipling

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990375

Offers young readers a look at the lives of elephants, wolves, and other creatures from India, and the seals of the North Pacific Ocean, from the stories of Rudyard Kipling.

Tales of Sherlock Holmes

L.L. Owens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990382

Offers young readers a look at four adventures of the famous English detective, Sherlock Holmes, from stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Tales of Silliness

Kuharski, Janice (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990399

Offers young readers a look at four comic tales, including "The Six Sillies," "Blockhead Hans," and "The Emperor's New CLothes."

Tales of Washington Irving

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990450

Four stories and a play, including The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, The Legend of the Enchanted Soldier, and Rip Van Winkle.

Tales of Animals

Karen Berg Douglas (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990153

Includes Rikki-Tikki-Tavi, The Colony of Cats, The Country Mouse and the Town Mouse, The Fox and the Wolf, The Lion and the Mouse, and How Some Wild Animals Became Tame.

Tales of China

Janice Kuharski (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990191

Includes The First Country Wolf, The Rainmakers, The Cricket, The Girl in Green, The Hardwork Mountains, and The Divided Daughter.