Search Results: 339 books from 23 publishers. Learn more

The Princess and the Peas and Carrots

Harriet Ziefert (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609052508

Most of the time she is good Princess Rosebud. But when there's a hole in her sock, or her sweater is itchy, or–ick!–the peas on her plate are smushed up right next to the carrots, this strong-willed little miss becomes the picky and prickly Princess Fussy. Sound Familiar? The clever rendition of The Princess and the Pea offers a funny, insightful reflection of how important having certain things be "just so" can be to certain kids. Everyone will cheer the surprising twist that reveals why Rosebud cannot get comfy at bedtime. Is it simply the return of Princess Fussy? Or might there be a more royal reason for her finicky convictions?

41 Uses for a Grandma

Harriet Ziefert (author) Amanda Haley (illustrator)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609051068

Grandmas get their due in this companion to 40 Uses for a Grandpa. "Don't be surprised when little ones demand to take Grandma and Grandpa through these books, page by charming page," declares Cricket magazine. From one to forty-one, great grandmothers are celebrated in this perfect-for-giving-and-getting homage.

35 Uses for a Daughter

Harriet Ziefert (author), Deborah Zemke (illustrator)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781593540999

Daughters come in all colors, sizes, and shapes, with all kinds of enthusiasms, abilities, and talents. But whether they're acting as the family's computer guru, movie critic, taste tester, fashionista, tennis partner, or dog walker, or are just using up all the cell phone minutes, every daughter is special. Deborah Zemke's whimsical illustrations show families from all walks of life.

Where are the Jelly Beans?

Nancy Streza (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781623958893

Three sisters love jelly beans and discover a fun surprise in this cute children's book from Nancy Streza.

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401893

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen in the twelve dancing princesses were actually sneaking into a fairy world in order to play baseball. In this fun and beautifully illustrated story, the 12 princesses take their baseball skills to the next level when an unassuming young field manager stumbles on to their secret.

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401978

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen if Snow White took her amazing cleaning and organizing skills and applied them to business. In this fun and beautifully-illustrated story, Snow White takes control of her own fate and improves the lives of everyone around her, without any help from a prince. This fairy tale retelling is a short chapter book suitable as a read aloud or for young, advanced readers. It's perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin's Catwings or Ruth Stiles Gannett's My Father's Dragon.

You are the Coolest

Calee M. Lee (author) Brenda Ponnay (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532415562

This collection of positive puns is sure to make any kid chuckle. From "Taco 'bout an awesome kid!" to "I be-leaf in you!" this book is filled will illustrated affirmations that provide a daily reminder that they are loved. Brenda Ponnay's fun illustrations bring the puns to life and are appropriate for pinning on a refrigerator, bulletin board, or flipping through on a regular basis.

Yo Ho, Ha Ha! Pirate Jokes for Kids

Debbie Cressey (author) Sofia Sita (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532413322

This arrgh-tastic collection of pirate jokes from Debbie Cressey, will get kids talking and laughing like a true pirate. Sofia Sita's vibrant illustrations transform the jokes into an engaging narrative through the funniest parts of pirate life. Perfect for "Talk like a Pirate Day" or any pirate-loving child!

Knock Knock, Lettuce In!

Brenda Ponnay (author, illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532412141

The Garden has the giggles in this funny joke book about vegetables. Knock, Knock. Who's There? Lettuce. Lettuce Who? Lettuce In and you'll find out! In this funny collection of illustrated jokes from Brenda Ponnay, little ones will laugh at their favorite vegetables.

Travel Guide for Monsters

Lori Degman (author) Dave Szalay (illustrator)

Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press ISBN: 9781534166769

Taking your monster on a road trip this summer? Or letting your favorite beast tag along on a family beach vacation? Wherever you and your monster are traveling, Travel Guide for Monsters is full of essential tips to help you both enjoy the sights from coast to coast--and avoid monster-related mishaps.

What to Do with a String

Jane Yolen (author) C. F. Payne (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781640001374

Snag the spirit of adventure and lasso the limitless horizons of imagination to discover all the simple yet fantastical things one can make out of a string—from slingshots to sails, swings to phone lines—in this sequel to Jane Yolen’s popular picture book, What to Do with a Box (2016).

How to Outsmart a Werewolf

Eric Braun (author)

Publisher: Black Rabbit Books ISBN: 9781680729313

Learn how to trick, tease, and tickle your way out of any situation with an evil villain, and laugh along the way!

How to Outsmart a Ninja

Eric Braun (author)

Publisher: Black Rabbit Books ISBN: 9781680729290

Learn how to trick, tease, and tickle your way out of any situation with a vampire, and laugh along the way!

How to Outsmart a Mad Scientist

Eric Braun (author)

Publisher: Black Rabbit Books ISBN: 9781680729276

Learn how to trick, tease, and tickle your way out of any situation with a mad scientist, and laugh along the way!

How to Outsmart a Martian

Eric Braun (author)

Publisher: Black Rabbit Books ISBN: 9781680729283

Learn how to trick, tease, and tickle your way out of any situation with a martian, and laugh along the way!

How to Outsmart an Evil Villain

Eric Braun (author)

Publisher: Black Rabbit Books ISBN: 9781680729320

Learn how to trick, tease, and tickle your way out of any situation with a ninja, and laugh along the way!

How to Outsmart a Vampire

Eric Braun (author)

Publisher: Black Rabbit Books ISBN: 9781680729306

Learn how to trick, tease, and tickle your way out of any situation with a werewolf, and laugh along the way!

I.A.M.M.

Harriett Diller (author) Les Gray (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389317

Dorsi shouldn't leave her lizard's mealworms on a low shelf in the refrigerator, not with a toddler like Travis around.

Night Owl Nabs the Sheep Snatcher

Donna M. Boock (author) Guy Francis (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389461

With a nod to classic fairy tales, Night Owl plays detective.

A Tooth Tale

Christine L. Henderson (author) Mark Corcoran (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389089

David and the Tooth Fairy resolve a misunderstanding.

Cock-a-Doodle

Highlights for Children (author) Nathan Walker (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389164

A rooster figures out how to crow without falling off his perch.

Surprise on the Path

Beverly J. Letchworth (author) Mike Dammer (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682387207

Squirrel follows a boy and his mom. Soon many other animals join Squirrel who somehow knew that the boy had two muffins in a bag and was going to drop crumbs all over the place.

Goosey-Gog and Ducketty-Duck

Joy Cowley (author) Liz Callen (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682386705

Goosey-Gog and Ducketty-Duck go for a walk and get stuck in the mud. Chicken comes along with his truck and helps them out but the truck slips into the mud and leaves them all stuck.

Valentine's Day Disaster

Michelle L. Brown (author) Paula J. Becker (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385241

A big mistake actually helps Chance and Iggy win the talent contest.

The Dog Who Barked Backwards

Mary Lee Chapman (author) Rocky Fuller (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385159

Mr. Johnson learns that Rufus is a great dog--despite his weird bark.