Search Results: 247 books from 19 publishers. Learn more

The Pirate's Daughter

Christophe Miraucourt, Delphine Vaufrey (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116628

Melinda is struggling to find a birthday present for her Dad. What do you get a pirate who has everything?! Her brother Ricky starts to cause trouble and before you know it the two of them get themselves into terrible danger.

Where are the Jelly Beans?

Nancy Streza (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781623958893

Three sisters love jelly beans and discover a fun surprise in this cute children's book from Nancy Streza.

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401893

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen in the twelve dancing princesses were actually sneaking into a fairy world in order to play baseball. In this fun and beautifully illustrated story, the 12 princesses take their baseball skills to the next level when an unassuming young field manager stumbles on to their secret.

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401978

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen if Snow White took her amazing cleaning and organizing skills and applied them to business. In this fun and beautifully-illustrated story, Snow White takes control of her own fate and improves the lives of everyone around her, without any help from a prince. This fairy tale retelling is a short chapter book suitable as a read aloud or for young, advanced readers. It's perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin's Catwings or Ruth Stiles Gannett's My Father's Dragon.

You are the Coolest

Calee M. Lee (author) Brenda Ponnay (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532415562

This collection of positive puns is sure to make any kid chuckle. From "Taco 'bout an awesome kid!" to "I be-leaf in you!" this book is filled will illustrated affirmations that provide a daily reminder that they are loved. Brenda Ponnay's fun illustrations bring the puns to life and are appropriate for pinning on a refrigerator, bulletin board, or flipping through on a regular basis.

Travel Guide for Monsters

Lori Degman (author) Dave Szalay (illustrator)

Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press ISBN: 9781534166769

Taking your monster on a road trip this summer? Or letting your favorite beast tag along on a family beach vacation? Wherever you and your monster are traveling, Travel Guide for Monsters is full of essential tips to help you both enjoy the sights from coast to coast--and avoid monster-related mishaps.

I.A.M.M.

Harriett Diller (author) Les Gray (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389317

Dorsi shouldn't leave her lizard's mealworms on a low shelf in the refrigerator, not with a toddler like Travis around.

Night Owl Nabs the Sheep Snatcher

Donna M. Boock (author) Guy Francis (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389461

With a nod to classic fairy tales, Night Owl plays detective.

Cock-a-Doodle

Highlights for Children (author) Nathan Walker (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389164

A rooster figures out how to crow without falling off his perch.

A Tooth Tale

Christine L. Henderson (author) Mark Corcoran (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389089

David and the Tooth Fairy resolve a misunderstanding.

Surprise on the Path

Beverly J. Letchworth (author) Mike Dammer (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682387207

Squirrel follows a boy and his mom. Soon many other animals join Squirrel who somehow knew that the boy had two muffins in a bag and was going to drop crumbs all over the place.

Goosey-Gog and Ducketty-Duck

Joy Cowley (author) Liz Callen (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682386705

Goosey-Gog and Ducketty-Duck go for a walk and get stuck in the mud. Chicken comes along with his truck and helps them out but the truck slips into the mud and leaves them all stuck.

The Dog Who Barked Backwards

Mary Lee Chapman (author) Rocky Fuller (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385159

Mr. Johnson learns that Rufus is a great dog--despite his weird bark.

The Ghost of Yuckachi Swamp

Crystal Mandell (author) Dennis Hockerman (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385166

Donald Crocodile's singing saves his family from poachers who think the swamp is haunted.

Comic-Strip Cal

Ann Devendorf (author) BB Sams (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385647

Cal has read so many comics that his thoughts are appearing in balloons above his head.

The Sighting

Joyann Dwire (author) Les Gray (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385203

A neighbor is convinced he's seen Bigfoot. Now Eddie Cathy and Marie want to find out for themselves.

The Tenth Puppy

Linda G. Paulsen (author) Kathleen Kemly (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385234

Saralynn helps her uncle discover the missing "puppy."

The Spider's Lullaby

Toby Speed (author) Karen Stormer Brooks (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385227

Where can a spider find a lullaby and a quiet place to sleep?

Valentine's Day Disaster

Michelle L. Brown (author) Paula J. Becker (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682385241

A big mistake actually helps Chance and Iggy win the talent contest.

Ducktective Max and the Missing Farm Animals

Donna M. Boock (author) Pete Whitehead (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682384749

This detective and his assistant solve a humorous mystery.

Fox Strings the Beans

Barbara Owen (author) Jane Chambless Wright (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682384794

Fox's way of doing the chores cheers up Bear.

How Do You Know When the Carrots Are Ready?

Nancy Ramsey (author) Nicole in den Bosch (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682384862

Grandpa and Chelsea take care of their garden together, and Chelsea learns how to tell when the carrots are ready.

Fox and the Chickadees

Barbara Owen (author) Jane Chambless Wright (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682384787

Fox's fear is relieved when he finds that Bear is helping the birds not hurting them.

Grabby Big Tom Bumble

Sally Derby (author) Pete Whitehead (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682384824

This bear learns to mind his manners.

Lucy's Puppy

Kurt Daniel Lavender (author) Amy Wummer (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682384947

Lucy's brother and his friends think they have a perfect name for the new puppy--until they find out it's a girl.