Search Results: 17 books from 1 publisher. Learn more

Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring

Rebecca Bond (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580895941

In this early reader with five short chapters, emerging readers meet Pig and Goose. Pig is happy. She loves to dance. She loves to eat. But she cannot fly. And she cannot swim. Goose can fly like a bird. Goose can glide across the water beautifully. But he cannot tell stories or host a party like Pig can. Pig and Goose are very different. But what they do have in common is that they like each other. And they love springtime. Simple text and charming illustrations guide beginning readers throughout the story and encourage independent reading.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Metal Man

Aaron Reynolds (author), Paul Hoppe (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580891516

Devon visits the Metal Man at his fiery workshop every day, despite the scorching heat of the city where he lives. At the Metal Man's shop, sparks fly from his welding torch as he cuts and melts together old pieces of junk into works of art. Devon is fascinated by the Metal Man's creations. Then one day, the Metal Man lets Devon put his own imagination to work. Aaron Reynolds's urban voice and the gritty illustrations of Paul Hoppe bring an exciting beat and pulse to the story of a young boy discovering his own voice and vision in art with a kind mentor to lead the way.

Where's the Party?

Katharine Crawford Robey (author), Kate Endle (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580892681

The birds in Kate's neighborhood have a secret: there's a party today! But where? Kate listens to the clues in the calls of her neighborhood birds and discovers an impromptu birthday party for week-old ducklings.

Tita y Ben: tres cuentos

Lori Ries (author), Frank W. Dormer (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781570919350

Daddy takes Ben on a surprise trip to the pet store. Ben doesn't want a mouse, a snake, or even a cat. But when a certain puppy makes Ben laugh, a lasting friendship is formed. Three short chapters trace a day in the life of Ben and his new puppy, Tita. This book is good for your brain because: Early Reader, Chapter book, Responsibility, Friendship

Not So Tall for Six

Dianna Hutts Aston (author), Frank W. Dormer (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781570917066

Brave and smart and big at heart. Kylie Bell may be the smallest one in her first-grade class, but when it comes to standing up to mean ol' bully-boy Rusty Jacks, her courage is monumental. Life isn't easy when you can't reach the water fountain, but Kylie Bell's big heart and good manners prove that sometimes it takes the most courage to do what's right. Frank Dormer's playful art extends the funny animal metaphors and appeals to both girls and boys. This book is good for your brain because: Building character, Problem solving, Bullying

Good Dog, Aggie

Lori Ries (author), Frank W. Dormer (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781570916465

SIT . . . STAY . . . FETCH! In this sequel to Aggie and Ben, the best friends are back for more boy-and-his-dog fun. Young readers will laugh out loud at Aggie's irrepressible antics and Ben's determined attempts to train her. Three short chapters, just right for beginning readers, follow Aggie and Ben on their adventures in doggie training, obedience, and friendship. This book is good for your brain because: Pets, Friendship, Early Readers

First Day Jitters

Julie Danneberg (author), Judy Love (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580890618

Everyone knows that sinking feeling in the pit of the stomach just before diving into a new situation. Sarah Jane Hartwell is scared and doesn't want to start over at a new school. She doesn't know anybody, and nobody knows her. It will be awful. She just knows it. With much prodding from Mr. Hartwell, Sarah Jane reluctantly pulls herself together and goes to school. She is quickly befriended by Mrs. Burton, who helps smooth her jittery transition. This charming and familiar story will delight readers with its surprise ending. Fun, energetic illustrations brighten page after page with the busy antics surrounding Sarah Jane. First Day Jitters is an enchanting story that is sure to be treasured by anyone who has every anticipated a first day of school.

Wiggle and Waggle

Caroline Arnold (author), Mary Peterson (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580893077

Two worms who are best friends have fun together as they tunnel their way through a garden. Includes facts on how worms help plants grow.

Fix it, Sam

Lori Ries (author), Sue Rama (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781570917226

Petey wants to make something wonderful, but he can't help making a mess along the way. It's a good thing his big brother Sam is always there to fix his mistakes.

Poodle and Hound

Kathryn Lasky (author), Mitch Vane (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580893220

Acclaimed author Kathryn Lasky explores the nature of friendship in three delightful stories for beginning readers. Creative, impulsive Poodle and loyal, dependable Hound are an unexpected pair. Together they star gaze, plant a garden and prove that two very different individuals can not only be compatible, they can complement and help one another. This book is good for your brain because: Friendship, Helpfulness, Language Arts

Raj, the Bookstore Tiger

Kathleen T. Pelley (author), Paige Keiser (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580892308

Books make everything better. Being a bookstore tiger is hard work. There's much patrolling, and a lot of sitting in laps at story hour, and then there's sleeping in the window display. But Raj is up to the task. He is fierce and proud, until Snowball comes along. The new cat in the bookstore informs Raj that he's just a marmalade kitty-cat. Times get tough then for the bookstore tiger. But bookstore and Raj owner Felicity, with the help of poet William Blake, knows how to fix things. In turn, with a very special book, Raj is able to fix things with Snowball. Paige Keiser's quirky, intimate illustrations invite readers to curl up and share a story, with their own tigers or a friend.

The Patch

Justina Chen Headley (author), Mitch Vane (illustrator) (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580891707

The kids at school want to know why Becca is wearing glasses and a patch. Instead of telling them she has amblyopia, Becca leads her friends imaginative adventures to explain her new fashion accessory. Mitch Vane's illustrations capture the spunky exuberance of this resourceful heroine.

The Searcher and Old Tree

David McPhail (author, illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580892230

After a long night of foraging, a tired raccoons returns home to sleep in Old Tree's branches. Oblivious to the rain and wind of a raging storm, the raccoon is protected and sheltered by the tree.

Aggie the Brave

Lori Ries (author), Frank W. Dormer (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781570916359

A trip to the vet requires bravery. They met and became best friends in Aggie and Ben. They learned to behave in Good Dog, Aggie. Now Aggie and Ben must conquer their fears in their third book for beginning readers. Aggie has to go to the vet, but it's Ben who needs to be brave as he deals with a night without his best friend. When Aggie returns home, she is unable to play. Ben must do his best to take care of her and make her feel better. Frank W. Dormer's expressive illustrations tell the story of the special bond between a boy and his loyal dog. Young readers will love the continuing adventures of Aggie and Ben.

Aggie and Ben: Three Stories

Lori Ries (author), Frank W. Dormer (illustrator) (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781570916496

Daddy takes Ben on a surprise trip to the pet store. Ben doesn't want a mouse, a snake, or even a cat. But when a certain puppy makes Ben laugh, a lasting friendship is formed. Three short chapters trace a day in the life of Ben and his new puppy, Aggie.

Aggie Gets Lost

Lori Ries (author), Frank W. Dormer (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781570916335

Aggie and Ben are back with another adventure in three short chapters just right for beginning readers. Ben and Aggie are playing fetch in the park. When Ben throws too far, Aggie doesn't come back! Ben looks and looks, but he cannot find her. It is the worst day ever. Ben's sadness turns into determination as he retraces his steps, makes posters, and enlists other people to help turn Aggie from a lost pup a found one.