Search Results: 243 books from 25 publishers. Learn more

Go Away, Buddy!

Karen Walberg (author), John Speirs (illustrator)

Publisher: Newmark Learning ISBN: 9781612691893

Ana loves Buddy, but now Ana has a new baby brother. Will Buddy ever get Ana's attention again?

My First Day At School

Emmi S. Herman (author) Ruth J. Flanigan (illustrator)

Publisher: Twin Sisters ISBN: 9781625818737

It’s Amy’s first day of school and she is a little nervous. So Amy’s mother gives her a big hug and shows her a folded piece of paper. Then she quickly puts the paper in Amy’s pocket and tells her to open it if she needs a little help. Follow Amy throughout her day as she meets new friends, eats lunch, and plays on the playground. What will happen when Amy falls, scrapes both of her knees, and has to go see the school nurse? Will she look at the folded piece of paper in her pocket? A positive ending will add interest and help calm young students’ nerves about attending the first day of school.

Surfer Dog

Eric Walters (author) Eugenie Fernandes (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459814363

What is the true meaning of friendship? Follow along as a boy meets up with his friend - a dog who faithfully waits for him every day so they can ride out to the beach together to surf. The boy doesn't own the dog and he doesn't know who does, but their daily routine has created a special bond. Award-winning author Eric Walters navigates the waters of a unique friendship alongside the vibrant illustrations of Eugenie Fernandes, who brings the bumpy roads, rugged beach paths and rolling waves of the tropics to life. Sometimes the most poignant relationships in a child's life are the ones between friends.

The Three Little Worms

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374779

Little worms! Squirmy Wormy and Mortimer are three little worms who know how to have big fun! See what happens when they play jump rope, or when they enter a talent contest. What will they get up to next? Stories by David L. Roper.

The Adventures of Spot: Time for a Nap

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374540

Time for a nap! Spot tries to find a peaceful place to nap. On a sunny day, Spot naps in the shade. Playing with a new toy can be exhausting for a puppy like Spot. Spot wants to take a nap but Splinter wants to play. A fly disturbs Spot as he tries to nap. Stories by Marileta Robinson and Highlights for Children.

Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring

Rebecca Bond (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580895941

In this early reader with five short chapters, emerging readers meet Pig and Goose. Pig is happy. She loves to dance. She loves to eat. But she cannot fly. And she cannot swim. Goose can fly like a bird. Goose can glide across the water beautifully. But he cannot tell stories or host a party like Pig can. Pig and Goose are very different. But what they do have in common is that they like each other. And they love springtime. Simple text and charming illustrations guide beginning readers throughout the story and encourage independent reading.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Honey Bear's Blue Bathing Suit

Todd H. Doodler (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609052034

Honey Bear is having a summertime birthday party at the beach. After her friends choose the perfect birthday presents - a blue swimsuit and beach-y accessories - they head to the shore for volleyball, a scavenger hunt, and, of course, birthday cake! Young readers will enjoy best-selling author/illustrator Todd Goldman's signature style and familiar characters, this time in a summer setting. Bear in Blue Bathing Suit is a perfect addition to Bear in Underwear, Bear in Pink Underwear, and Bear in Long Underwear.

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

Prickles vs The Dust Bunnies

Daniel Cleary (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609050801

With simple text and cartoon artwork, Balloon Toons are the the perfect way to engage and encourage new readers. Award-winning and up-and-coming cartoonists lend their inimitable and illustrative talents to entertaining stories kids will enjoy again and again. In this charming tale, Daniel Cleary introduces Prickles the cat, who likes to keep the house squeaky-clean, and Squeeky the mouse, who has befriended a cluster of unwelcome dust bunnies. When Prickles threatens to throw the dust bunnies out, Squeeky saves the day with a wacky plan to disguise his friends.

Fuzzy, Furry Hat

Etienne Delessert (author)Etienne Delessert (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566607889

A lonely bear who lives in a magical tree provides shelter for countless animals in his fuzzy, furry hat as they all withstand a deluge and become forever friends.

Where Do I End and You Begin?

Shulamith Oppenheim (author)Monique Felix (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566606271

A sweetly poetic tribute to the interconnectedness of creatures and the natural world as well as humans and our loving relationships with one another is delicately rendered by artist Monique Felix.

The Good Ship Crocodile

J. Patrick Lewis (author), Monique Felix (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566603003

A crocodile named Snout assists his animal neighbors by ferrying them across a swollen river, then is repaid for his good deeds when he is in need of help.

Muttlee, the Best Dog in the World!

Taylor Farley (author)

Publisher: Blue Door Education ISBN: 9780997989632

A story of how a funny-looking dog from the pound became the best dog in the world.

Bursunsul and Paskualina (Polish)

Olesya Yavadze (Author), Evgueni Ivanov (Illustrator)

Publisher: International Step by Step Association ISBN: 9781601950956

Big black Busunsul and little white Paskualina are the best of friends. They are both very unusual dogs and they live happily in a house together. They love to play the same games and to hike in the forest. They even sleep in the same room, sometimes cuddling up together when it's very cold. But what happens when a big, beautiful succulent bone comes between them?

Freckles the Pig

Lisa Mullarkey (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532140440

It’s fall cleanup time at Storm Cliff Stables, and Freckles wants to help! Unfortunately, his ideas for brightening up the place make for a muddy mess instead. Luckily, his farmyard friends know just what to do! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards.

Gaston the Goat

Lisa Mullarkey (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532140457

A storm is coming to Storm Cliff Stables, and Gaston the goat is scared. Rain! Lightning! Thunder! Gaston fears he’ll never get to sleep with all that flashing and booming. Luckily, his farmyard friends know just what to do! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards.

Golden Girl the Chicken

Lisa Mullarkey (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532140464

Golden Girl is excited for her first Family Day at Storm Cliff Stables. But where is her family? She looks right. She looks left. No luck! Luckily, her farmyard friends know just what to do! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards.

Daniela

Lisa Mullarkey (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781614796220

Daniela vino al campamento ecuestre desde Costa Rica y se supone que debe convivir con su prima Gabriela, pero algo no marcha bien al inicio. Libro de la colección Las Chicas Poni.

Daisy the Cow

Lisa Mullarkey (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532140433

Daisy the cow can’t wait to go to the county fair this year. Who doesn’t love winning blue ribbons? But Daisy has a cold. Moo, moo, ahchoo! Luckily, her farmyard friends know just what to do! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards.

Kianna

Lisa Mullarkey (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781614796244

Kianna está triste porque parece que nadie se ha acordado de su cumpleaños.

Bursunsal and Paskualina (Slovak)

Olesya Tavadze (author), Evgueni Ivanov (illustrator)

Publisher: International Step by Step Association ISBN: 9781601950482

Big black Busunsul and little white Paskualina are the best of friends. They are both very unusual dogs and they live happily in a house together. They love to play the same games and to hike in the forest. They even sleep in the same room, sometimes cuddling up together when it's very cold. But what happens when a big, beautiful succulent bone comes between them . . . ?

Metal Man

Aaron Reynolds (author), Paul Hoppe (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580891516

Devon visits the Metal Man at his fiery workshop every day, despite the scorching heat of the city where he lives. At the Metal Man's shop, sparks fly from his welding torch as he cuts and melts together old pieces of junk into works of art. Devon is fascinated by the Metal Man's creations. Then one day, the Metal Man lets Devon put his own imagination to work. Aaron Reynolds's urban voice and the gritty illustrations of Paul Hoppe bring an exciting beat and pulse to the story of a young boy discovering his own voice and vision in art with a kind mentor to lead the way.

Andrew and the Birthday Surprise: The Boy Who Cried Wolf Remixed

Connie Colwell Miller (author)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781681510750

In this modern-day re-telling of Aesop's fable The Boy Who Cried Wolf, Andrew ruins a surprise his sisters are making for his mom when he gets bored and cries wolf too many times. Includes original fable, compare and contrast questions, and short bio of Aesop.

"What Did He Say?"

Tessa Kenan (author) Anthony Lewis (illustrator)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781607538318

Trey’s friends keep misinterpreting his story of a new pet, as the characters learn how to correctly use quotation marks in a sentence.