Search Results: 108 books from 10 publishers. Learn more

The Fantasy Soccer Wall

Anne Bryant, Kelly Kennedy (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116598

Harry really wants to win his team's soccer game and earn the respect of his teammate Brad. However, things do not go as planned. Then, one day, Harry discovers the wall at the end of the playground and its strange magical powers. Soon every wish Harry makes comes true!

The Magic Scooter

Julia Jarman, Sam Hearn (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116604

Caspar can't take his eyes off his new birthday present - a new scooter! He soon finds out it's not just any scooter but one with magical, time-traveling powers.

The Pirate's Daughter

Christophe Miraucourt, Delphine Vaufrey (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116628

Melinda is struggling to find a birthday present for her Dad. What do you get a pirate who has everything?! Her brother Ricky starts to cause trouble and before you know it the two of them get themselves into terrible danger.

The Night of the Were-Boy

Enid Richemont, Gustavo Mazali (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116611

There is a full moon and Frankie the cat is feeling rather strange. Then something quite incredible suddenly starts to happen!

The Pop Star Pirates

Maggie Pearson, Dan Chernett (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116635

When three boys all run away from home to try and live like pirates, life is easy at first. Then they meet Bonnie-Ann who trains them like real pirates. But their real talent turns out to be more musical.

Pirate Treasure

Christophe Miraucourt, Delphine Vaufrey (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116574

Melinda and her brother Ricky discover the whereabouts of some secret treasure! However, the sinister Captain Crook is after the treasure too and takes the children to Skeleton Island where they must find the treasure or await their doom!

Betty Q Investigates

Karyn Gorman, Maddy McClellan (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116567

Betty Q is no ordinary girl. She is an ace detective whose special deductive powers can solve any mystery!

The Egyptian Cat Mystery

Penny Dolan, Andy Elkerton (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116581

There is something very strange about the Egyptian cat that Jed and Ruby spot in the museum, hidden among the Ancient Egyptian artifacts. Later on they come across a real cat, who follows them home. But this is no ordinary cat, as they are about to find out.

Princess Angelica, Junior Reporter

Monique Polak (author) Jane Heinrichs (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459823594

Angelica just can’t help herself! In this third book in the series, Angelica, aka Jelly, is confused for a junior reporter and decides to make the most of her mistaken identity to learn what it’s like to be a real journalist. Jelly and her bestie, Joon, are soon busy with problems at the new library, trouble in the lap lane at the local pool and a predicament in a rare-book room. With her keen observational abilities and a knack for creative solutions, Jelly soon has more than enough material for an article. But will she be able to keep up the ruse when a new friend starts nosing around?

Billy Stuart in the Eye of the Cyclops

Alain M. Bergeron (author) Sampar (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459823471

Billy Stuart, the young raccoon leader of the Zintrepids Scout troop, aspires to be just like his grandfather, a globe-trotting adventurer who knows no fear. After accidentally traveling through time in pursuit of the elder Stuart, Billy and friends find themselves lost in a land inhabited by giants: giant plants, giant animals, GIANT MONSTERS! Billy and his companions set off to explore the island, looking for fresh water and food. But a hailstorm forces them to take shelter in a grotto, where they find the trail of Billy’s grandfather, Virgil Stuart. However, following Grandpa’s footsteps turns out to be much more perilous than they expected. And stranded in the heart of this mysterious island, the Zintrepids can’t shake the feeling that they are being watched. Brightly illustrated and enhanced with games and puzzles throughout, Billy Stuart in the Eye of the Cyclops is sure to amuse readers of all ages.

Ethel the Emu

Pamela Wiley (author) Robin Dewitt (illustrator)

Publisher: Kaeden Books ISBN: 9781641323512

When Mr. Reynolds sells his farm, he discovers that Ethel the Emu doesn't want to move. Will anyone be able to change her mind, or with Ethel convey?

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401893

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen in the twelve dancing princesses were actually sneaking into a fairy world in order to play baseball. In this fun and beautifully illustrated story, the 12 princesses take their baseball skills to the next level when an unassuming young field manager stumbles on to their secret.

Best Beast

Teena Raffa-Mulligan (author) Jess Smart Smiley (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781623957476

When a little girl wishes she could have a pet, she gets more than she asked for. Amy wants a pet so she can enter the pet parade competition and win a holiday vacation for her family. Her dad is out of work and her mom insists the family can't afford a dog or cat or even a crab. When Amy receives a magic rock from a crazy old lady, she discovers that her pet may not just beat the competition, it just might eat them too!

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401978

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen if Snow White took her amazing cleaning and organizing skills and applied them to business. In this fun and beautifully-illustrated story, Snow White takes control of her own fate and improves the lives of everyone around her, without any help from a prince. This fairy tale retelling is a short chapter book suitable as a read aloud or for young, advanced readers. It's perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin's Catwings or Ruth Stiles Gannett's My Father's Dragon.

Lost Dog

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton, Katherine Hood-Tatara (illustrators)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781925442017

Dad finds a homemade sign on the front door from Amy, a girl in the neighborhood, saying that her dog, Spot, is lost. Danny and Norman decide to become canine detectives and use their noses to search for Spot.

Camping Out

Mia Coulton (author)Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624556

Danny and Dad have fun camping at Beartown Lakes Reservation, until they hear a scary noise. What happens next?

The Fort

Mia Coulton (author)Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624716

Danny builds a fort for his friend Bee, but Bee goes missing. Will Danny find his friend?

Moving

Mia Coulton (author)Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624907

Danny is moving to the country from the little red house in the middle of the block. Danny makes a memory jar for Abby so that she will always remember him and the good times they've had.

A Week at Grandma Ruth’s

Mia Coulton (author)Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624266

Danny loves to visit Grandma Ruth. Danny spends a week at Grandma Ruth's house and meets a new friend, Frank.

Rooster Instructor

Amy Cobb (author) (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532130267

Libby’s rooster, Doodle, doesn’t crow. He peeps. So, Libby starts Rooster School just for Doodle. She tries everything to teach him how to crow, but he just says peep. In a huff, she cancels Rooster School. A few days later while catching frogs, Libby hears Doodle crow from the barn! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.

Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring

Rebecca Bond (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580895941

In this early reader with five short chapters, emerging readers meet Pig and Goose. Pig is happy. She loves to dance. She loves to eat. But she cannot fly. And she cannot swim. Goose can fly like a bird. Goose can glide across the water beautifully. But he cannot tell stories or host a party like Pig can. Pig and Goose are very different. But what they do have in common is that they like each other. And they love springtime. Simple text and charming illustrations guide beginning readers throughout the story and encourage independent reading.

Un monstruo en los manglares (Monster in the Mangroves)

Reese Everett (author) Sally Garland (illustrator)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781683422648

Lawrence had big plans for Saturday. Doing nothing. It was going to be perfect but it was ruined when he had to tag along to volunteer with his sister for beach cleanup. He didn’t expect other kids his age or the adventure they were going to have. From the sandy beach to the tangled roots of the mangroves, Lawrence and his friends encounter a giant eyeball, a dinosaur, and treasure! These books are perfect for young readers! These beginning chapter books offer simple sentences, relatable characters, and illustrations in each chapter. • Addresses social and emotional concepts • Realistic fiction • Back matter

Pateándolo (Kickin It)

Meg Greve (author) Alida Ruggeri (illustrator)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781683422679

Luis knows he is the best soccer player at his school because he always scores the most goals. Now he gets to play on a really team! He can’t wait to show his teammates and coach how good he is. The problem is, no one seems impressed. In fact, they seem like they don’t want him on the field. Can Luis show his team that he’s a team player before the big game? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter make them perfect first chapter books for young readers. • Realistic fiction • Back matter • Addresses social and emotional concepts

La cuadrilla “manada de lobos” está fuera de vista (Wolfpack Gang is Outta Sight)

Reese Everett (author) Sally Garland (illustrator)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781683422662

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. • Realistic fiction • Addresses social and emotional concepts • Back matter

Evan in the Middle

Kelli Hicks (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305693

Being in the middle can be hard. Evan is in the middle of his family and he doesn’t know where he fits in. He’s too small to play with his older brothers but too big to play with his younger brother and sister. He just wants to be big. Being big will make everything better – right? Paired to the nonfiction title Your Family Tree.