Search Results: 3 books from 3 publishers. Learn more

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Freereads badge Free for 1 more day

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Yo trabajo

Linda Koons (author)

Publisher: Newmark Learning ISBN: 9781478836896

Freereads badge Free for 24 more days

Las personas trabajan en diferentes lugares. Teach early Social Studies concepts and foundational reading skills with this precisely leveled text.

The Legend of Leelanau

Kathy-jo Wargin (author), Gijsbert van Frankenhuyzen (illustrator)

Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press ISBN: 9781627535953

Freereads badge Free for 26 more days

The young maiden Leelinau is forbidden from going into the Spirit Wood. But Leelinau so enjoys her time spent there with the Pukwudjinees (the tiny fairies of the forest) that she risks playing with them time and time again. The legend explores the resistance many of us harbor of entering adulthood. This is the fifth title written by Kathy-jo Wargin and illustrated by Gijsbert van Frankenhuyzen in our Legend series which currently has 400,000 copies in print. The Legend of the Sleeping Bear, the title that began the series, is the official State of Michigan childrens's book. "Leelinau was so happy to be in the Spirit Wood once again that she began to dance all around. Then she sat down amidst a mess of large tree roots that fit like a chair made just for her. But this time, as she sat there to rest, she heard strange whispers. At first, Leelinau thought it sounded like baby robins trying to catch their first breaths, or ferns being tossed back and forth in the wind. But Leelinau wasn't quite sure, so she listened more carefully. She heard more whispers, and then voices. Leelinau became frightened. Her heart pounded like a large drum in her chest, and her throat felt tight and narrow."