Search Results: 232 books from 17 publishers. Learn more

Rub-a-dub-dub: Three Men and a Pancake

Katie Dale, Steve Stone (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427177223

The baker gets a huge shock when the giant pancake he is making leaps off the frying pan and rolls off into town! The butcher and the candlestick maker help give chase. But when a giant sniffs out the tasty pancake, he chases them all! The only escape is on the river, but how can they stay afloat?

The Boy Who Cried Sheep!

Laura North, Becka Moore (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427177230

In this version of the classic fairy tale, the shepherd boy who cried "wolf" is watching a herd of stunt-jumping sheep! He must save the day when no one comes to rescue little Red Riding Hood from the Big Bad Wolf!

Thumbelina Thinks Big

Katie Dale, Rupert Van Wyk (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427177254

Thumbelina dreams of being a model on the catwalk. She has big dreams of stardom…but not very much luck at getting noticed! Then a local fashion show comes to town. Could this be her big chance? 

The Ninjabread Man

Katrina Charman, Fabiano Fiorin (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427177247

In a terrific twist on the original tale of The Gingerbread Man, follow the amazing Ninjabread Man as he dips and dives out of danger!

Sports Jokes, Riddles, and Games

Anne-Marie Rodger (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427117472

What can you serve but never eat? A volleyball! When your team is down and out, sometimes the only thing you have is humor. Using sports jokes, puns, riddles, and rhymes, this riotous book helps readers learn how to understand the culture of humor and how to use it in their own writing.

Brownilocks and the Three Bowls of Cornflakes

Enid Richemont, Polona Lovsin (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427177209

In this classic twist on the traditional fairy tale, meet Brownilocks the bear. She gets hungry while she's out for a walk in the woods and finds a tasty surprise! Three delicious bowls of cornflakes have been left out for breakfast, but what happens when Mom, Dad, and Sam come home? 

Little Red Hen's Great Escape

Elizabeth Dale, Andrew Painter (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427177216

Little Red Hen knows something is wrong when she sees the bulldozers arrive on the farm! How can she find out what the farmer is up to when the other animals are all too lazy to help!

Animal Jokes, Riddles, and Games

Clara Christopher (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427117441

Why did the chicken cross the road? The answers are as varied and as funny as chickens themselves. Using clever animal jokes, puns, riddles, fantastic images, rhymes, and more, this book examines animal humor in everyday life. Readers will learn how humor is shaped by language and culture and be motivated to use it in their own writing.

Around the World in Jokes, Riddles, and Games

Marguerite Rodger (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427117458

Laughter is a universal language. Using jokes, puns, riddles, fantastic images, rhymes, and more, this book examines humor around the world. Readers will learn how humor is shaped by language and culture and how being a "cultural insider" can help you understand humor in another language or country.

Monster and Creepy-Crawly Jokes, Riddles, and Games

Rachel Eagen (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427117465

Vampire jokes, insect humor…we often make fun of the things that creep us out. This cringe-worthy book examines how our funny bones are sometimes tweaked by fright. Using jokes, puns, riddles, and rhymes, readers will learn how to harness their own fears and slay them with jokes.

The Pirate's Daughter

Christophe Miraucourt, Delphine Vaufrey (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116628

Melinda is struggling to find a birthday present for her Dad. What do you get a pirate who has everything?! Her brother Ricky starts to cause trouble and before you know it the two of them get themselves into terrible danger.

The Night of the Were-Boy

Enid Richemont, Gustavo Mazali (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116611

There is a full moon and Frankie the cat is feeling rather strange. Then something quite incredible suddenly starts to happen!

The Pop Star Pirates

Maggie Pearson, Dan Chernett (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116635

When three boys all run away from home to try and live like pirates, life is easy at first. Then they meet Bonnie-Ann who trains them like real pirates. But their real talent turns out to be more musical.

Hansel and Gretel and the Green Witch

Laura North, Chris Jevons (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427176844

In this classic fairy tale, retold with a twist, Hansel and Gretel are eat a lot of junk food and aren't very active. Their father, the woodcutter, plans a trip for them to the woods for exercise. But the children get lost and discover a hungry - but health-conscious - witch!

Rapunzel and the Prince of Pop

Karyn Gorman, Laura Anderson (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427176851

In this classic fairy tale, retold with a twist, the Prince of Pop is driving through the forest when he hears a stunning voice singing. It's Rapunzel! The only problem is she is locked in a tower by a witch. Can he free her and make Rapunzel into his next big pop star?

Rumpled Stilton Skin

Daniel Postgate (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427176868

In this classic fairy tale, retold with a twist, a funny little man with an unusual name appears when the poor cheesemaker's daughter needs his help. He makes her beautiful for a ball, but what will he ask for in return?

Where are the Jelly Beans?

Nancy Streza (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781623958893

Three sisters love jelly beans and discover a fun surprise in this cute children's book from Nancy Streza.

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401893

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen in the twelve dancing princesses were actually sneaking into a fairy world in order to play baseball. In this fun and beautifully illustrated story, the 12 princesses take their baseball skills to the next level when an unassuming young field manager stumbles on to their secret.

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401978

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen if Snow White took her amazing cleaning and organizing skills and applied them to business. In this fun and beautifully-illustrated story, Snow White takes control of her own fate and improves the lives of everyone around her, without any help from a prince. This fairy tale retelling is a short chapter book suitable as a read aloud or for young, advanced readers. It's perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin's Catwings or Ruth Stiles Gannett's My Father's Dragon.

You are the Coolest

Calee M. Lee (author) Brenda Ponnay (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532415562

This collection of positive puns is sure to make any kid chuckle. From "Taco 'bout an awesome kid!" to "I be-leaf in you!" this book is filled will illustrated affirmations that provide a daily reminder that they are loved. Brenda Ponnay's fun illustrations bring the puns to life and are appropriate for pinning on a refrigerator, bulletin board, or flipping through on a regular basis.

Yo Ho, Ha Ha! Pirate Jokes for Kids

Debbie Cressey (author) Sofia Sita (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532413322

This arrgh-tastic collection of pirate jokes from Debbie Cressey, will get kids talking and laughing like a true pirate. Sofia Sita's vibrant illustrations transform the jokes into an engaging narrative through the funniest parts of pirate life. Perfect for "Talk like a Pirate Day" or any pirate-loving child!

Knock Knock, Lettuce In!

Brenda Ponnay (author, illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532412141

The Garden has the giggles in this funny joke book about vegetables. Knock, Knock. Who's There? Lettuce. Lettuce Who? Lettuce In and you'll find out! In this funny collection of illustrated jokes from Brenda Ponnay, little ones will laugh at their favorite vegetables.

Travel Guide for Monsters

Lori Degman (author) Dave Szalay (illustrator)

Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press ISBN: 9781534166769

Taking your monster on a road trip this summer? Or letting your favorite beast tag along on a family beach vacation? Wherever you and your monster are traveling, Travel Guide for Monsters is full of essential tips to help you both enjoy the sights from coast to coast--and avoid monster-related mishaps.

What to Do with a String

Jane Yolen (author) C. F. Payne (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781640001374

Snag the spirit of adventure and lasso the limitless horizons of imagination to discover all the simple yet fantastical things one can make out of a string—from slingshots to sails, swings to phone lines—in this sequel to Jane Yolen’s popular picture book, What to Do with a Box (2016).

I.A.M.M.

Harriett Diller (author) Les Gray (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682389317

Dorsi shouldn't leave her lizard's mealworms on a low shelf in the refrigerator, not with a toddler like Travis around.