Search Results: 143 books from 22 publishers. Learn more

Hop, Hop, Hopscotch!

Marianne Mitchell (author) Tracy Bishop (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682383308

Marco Anna and her dog Rico play hopscotch.

The Tortoise, the Hare, and the Penguin

Tom Keating (author) Linda Weller (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380604

In a race to the lighthouse three friends discover how all of them can be winners.

Holly's Lantern

Nancy E. Walker-Guye (author) Barbara Nascimbeni (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643039718

Holly Hedgehog is afraid of the stormy night so Dad lights the lantern that hangs just outside her bedroom window. The light provides a beacon of safety for two of her friends. When she wakes in the morning, she finds her lantern no longer hanging outside her window. Instead it's on the front porch. How did it get there? Her friends come by and tell her how her lantern helped both of them navigate through the storm.

How to Celebrate a Birthday

Lissa Rovetch (author) Amy Wummer (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643039008

Tex, Indi, and Kate brainstorm what to do for Kate's birthday party. They decide to have a cool party with popsicles and running through the sprinkler.

The Weird Day with Walden

M. Coutts (author) Chris Jones (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643039183

Tim is excited to discover a new boy has moved in next door. After a somewhat confusing day of making plans, he discovers the one boy is actually a set of twins.

Little Bunny's New Neighbor

Eileen Spinelli (author) Rose Mary Berlin (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037523

Little Bunny and his friends worry about their grouchy new neighbor. Little Bunny learns how simple kindness can turn a grouch into a friend.

Jasmine Girl

Jey Manokaran (author) Hatem Aly (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038223

Shanti wants a doll she sees in a shop, so she earns money by selling garlands of jasmine. She then selflessly gives the money to her best friend for her little brother's expensive medicine, and later, her best friend buys her the doll.

Family and Friends/Familia y Amigos

Kathleen Petelinsek (author) Kathleen Petelinsek (illustrator)

Publisher: The Child's World ISBN: 9781602536982

Want a new way to show someone who your best friend is? How about using signs to tell your classmates about your family? Young readers will be delighted to learn a new way to discuss their favorite people. Both Spanish and English translations encourage kids to explore different languages and methods of communication.

Tip and Tucker Road Trip

Ann Ingalls, Sue Lowell Gallion (author) André Ceolin (illustrator)

Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press ISBN: 9781534138391

Meet Tip and Tucker! These hamsters are best friends and like to stick together. But while little Tip is sometimes nervous about new situations, Tucker likes to explore and see new things. Everything changes when Mr. Lopez purchases them from the pet store. As Tip and Tucker take a road trip, they wonder what their new home will be like. Mr. Lopez says it will be noisy and fun. What is school? In playful, simple stories written especially for the K-1 audience, Tip and Tucker will help beginning readers explore new feelings and learn to navigate classroom dynamics and relationships.

Buzz Plays Soccer

Cecilia Minden (author)

Publisher: Cherry Lake Publishing ISBN: 9781534130333

Buzz Plays Soccer in the Little Blossom Stories series uses curriculum based fiction to get children comfortable with reading--and excited about playing soccer. This book uses a combination of sight words and short-vowel words in repetition to build recognition and confidence. Original illustrations help guide readers through the text. Text and format is created by Cecilia Minden, PhD, a literacy consultant and former director of the Language and Literacy program at Harvard Graduate School of Education. Includes phonics and teachers' guide.

Go Away, Buddy!

Karen Walberg (author), John Speirs (illustrator)

Publisher: Newmark Learning ISBN: 9781612691893

Ana loves Buddy, but now Ana has a new baby brother. Will Buddy ever get Ana's attention again?

My First Day At School

Emmi S. Herman (author) Ruth J. Flanigan (illustrator)

Publisher: Twin Sisters ISBN: 9781625818737

It’s Amy’s first day of school and she is a little nervous. So Amy’s mother gives her a big hug and shows her a folded piece of paper. Then she quickly puts the paper in Amy’s pocket and tells her to open it if she needs a little help. Follow Amy throughout her day as she meets new friends, eats lunch, and plays on the playground. What will happen when Amy falls, scrapes both of her knees, and has to go see the school nurse? Will she look at the folded piece of paper in her pocket? A positive ending will add interest and help calm young students’ nerves about attending the first day of school.

The Three Little Worms

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374779

Little worms! Squirmy Wormy and Mortimer are three little worms who know how to have big fun! See what happens when they play jump rope, or when they enter a talent contest. What will they get up to next? Stories by David L. Roper.

The Adventures of Spot: Time for a Nap

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374540

Time for a nap! Spot tries to find a peaceful place to nap. On a sunny day, Spot naps in the shade. Playing with a new toy can be exhausting for a puppy like Spot. Spot wants to take a nap but Splinter wants to play. A fly disturbs Spot as he tries to nap. Stories by Marileta Robinson and Highlights for Children.

Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring

Rebecca Bond (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580895941

In this early reader with five short chapters, emerging readers meet Pig and Goose. Pig is happy. She loves to dance. She loves to eat. But she cannot fly. And she cannot swim. Goose can fly like a bird. Goose can glide across the water beautifully. But he cannot tell stories or host a party like Pig can. Pig and Goose are very different. But what they do have in common is that they like each other. And they love springtime. Simple text and charming illustrations guide beginning readers throughout the story and encourage independent reading.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Honey Bear's Blue Bathing Suit

Todd H. Doodler (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609052034

Honey Bear is having a summertime birthday party at the beach. After her friends choose the perfect birthday presents - a blue swimsuit and beach-y accessories - they head to the shore for volleyball, a scavenger hunt, and, of course, birthday cake! Young readers will enjoy best-selling author/illustrator Todd Goldman's signature style and familiar characters, this time in a summer setting. Bear in Blue Bathing Suit is a perfect addition to Bear in Underwear, Bear in Pink Underwear, and Bear in Long Underwear.

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

Prickles vs The Dust Bunnies

Daniel Cleary (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609050801

With simple text and cartoon artwork, Balloon Toons are the the perfect way to engage and encourage new readers. Award-winning and up-and-coming cartoonists lend their inimitable and illustrative talents to entertaining stories kids will enjoy again and again. In this charming tale, Daniel Cleary introduces Prickles the cat, who likes to keep the house squeaky-clean, and Squeeky the mouse, who has befriended a cluster of unwelcome dust bunnies. When Prickles threatens to throw the dust bunnies out, Squeeky saves the day with a wacky plan to disguise his friends.

Fuzzy, Furry Hat

Etienne Delessert (author)Etienne Delessert (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566607889

A lonely bear who lives in a magical tree provides shelter for countless animals in his fuzzy, furry hat as they all withstand a deluge and become forever friends.

The Good Ship Crocodile

J. Patrick Lewis (author), Monique Felix (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566603003

A crocodile named Snout assists his animal neighbors by ferrying them across a swollen river, then is repaid for his good deeds when he is in need of help.

Muttlee, the Best Dog in the World!

Taylor Farley (author)

Publisher: Blue Door Education ISBN: 9780997989632

A story of how a funny-looking dog from the pound became the best dog in the world.

Metal Man

Aaron Reynolds (author), Paul Hoppe (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580891516

Devon visits the Metal Man at his fiery workshop every day, despite the scorching heat of the city where he lives. At the Metal Man's shop, sparks fly from his welding torch as he cuts and melts together old pieces of junk into works of art. Devon is fascinated by the Metal Man's creations. Then one day, the Metal Man lets Devon put his own imagination to work. Aaron Reynolds's urban voice and the gritty illustrations of Paul Hoppe bring an exciting beat and pulse to the story of a young boy discovering his own voice and vision in art with a kind mentor to lead the way.

Andrew and the Birthday Surprise: The Boy Who Cried Wolf Remixed

Connie Colwell Miller (author)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781681510750

In this modern-day re-telling of Aesop's fable The Boy Who Cried Wolf, Andrew ruins a surprise his sisters are making for his mom when he gets bored and cries wolf too many times. Includes original fable, compare and contrast questions, and short bio of Aesop.

"What Did He Say?": A Book about Quotation Marks

Tessa Kenan (author) Anthony Lewis (illustrator)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781607538318

Trey’s friends keep misinterpreting his story of a new pet, as the characters learn how to correctly use quotation marks in a sentence.