Search Results: 102 books from 20 publishers. Learn more

A New Friend For Me

Cass Hollander (author) George Ulrich (illustrator)

Publisher: Twin Sisters ISBN: 9781625818713

A funny story talks about when Montague Morton Meriwether Smith arrives at a new school. What will happen during show and tell when one student’s pet snake gets out of the box? Follow along through each day of the week, and discover how this cool kid makes a special, new friend. A positive ending adds interest to this silly story and encourages a lifelong love for reading.

My First Day At School

Emmi S. Herman (author) Ruth J. Flanigan (illustrator)

Publisher: Twin Sisters ISBN: 9781625818737

It’s Amy’s first day of school and she is a little nervous. So Amy’s mother gives her a big hug and shows her a folded piece of paper. Then she quickly puts the paper in Amy’s pocket and tells her to open it if she needs a little help. Follow Amy throughout her day as she meets new friends, eats lunch, and plays on the playground. What will happen when Amy falls, scrapes both of her knees, and has to go see the school nurse? Will she look at the folded piece of paper in her pocket? A positive ending will add interest and help calm young students’ nerves about attending the first day of school.

The Three Little Worms

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374779

Little worms! Squirmy Wormy and Mortimer are three little worms who know how to have big fun! See what happens when they play jump rope, or when they enter a talent contest. What will they get up to next? Stories by David L. Roper.

The Adventures of Spot: Time for a Nap

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374540

Time for a nap! Spot tries to find a peaceful place to nap. On a sunny day, Spot naps in the shade. Playing with a new toy can be exhausting for a puppy like Spot. Spot wants to take a nap but Splinter wants to play. A fly disturbs Spot as he tries to nap. Stories by Marileta Robinson and Highlights for Children.

A Fish Story

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624051

Meet Fish. He lives in a fish bowl and eats fish food. He has a friend, Danny, who peeks in on Fish… and Fish peeks back.

Danny and Abby Play Hospital

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624105

Danny and Abby take turns being the doctor and nurse when they play hospital with Bee.

Pirate Fish

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624150

There’s something new in Fish’s bowl. It is a treasure chest filled with gold that has Fish acting like a pirate.

Danny is a Big Dog

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781933624921

Danny has a new friend named Penny. Danny is a big dog, while Penny is a little dog … a little dog with a big personality.

Norman is a Superhero

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781625441614

Danny, Norman and Bee are invited to a superhero party. Which superhero will Norman be for the party?

Norman's Loose Tooth

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781625441621

Danny and Norman are sitting on the deck when something happens to Norman’s loose tooth.

Danny and Heather Share

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9780972029582

Danny shares toy with his friend, Heather

Danny’s Party

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9780974647517

Danny is having a birthday party and sends invitations to all of his friends.

Danny and the Little Worm

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9780974647562

Danny finds a little worm and worries for its safety. Dad helps find him a safe home.

Danny, Norman and the Turtle

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton (illustrator)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781625441348

Danny and Norman find a big turtle in the yard.

Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring

Rebecca Bond (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580895941

In this early reader with five short chapters, emerging readers meet Pig and Goose. Pig is happy. She loves to dance. She loves to eat. But she cannot fly. And she cannot swim. Goose can fly like a bird. Goose can glide across the water beautifully. But he cannot tell stories or host a party like Pig can. Pig and Goose are very different. But what they do have in common is that they like each other. And they love springtime. Simple text and charming illustrations guide beginning readers throughout the story and encourage independent reading.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

Fuzzy, Furry Hat

Etienne Delessert (author)Etienne Delessert (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566607889

A lonely bear who lives in a magical tree provides shelter for countless animals in his fuzzy, furry hat as they all withstand a deluge and become forever friends.

The Good Ship Crocodile

J. Patrick Lewis (author), Monique Felix (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566603003

A crocodile named Snout assists his animal neighbors by ferrying them across a swollen river, then is repaid for his good deeds when he is in need of help.

Alexa the Fair

Matthew Hill, Anita Collins, Lisa Workman (authors), Chris Lewis, Shoua Vang (illustrator)

Publisher: Peddlesfoots Educational Holdings LLC ISBN: 1933101393

Alexa Peddlesfoot gets angry when her brothers don't play fairly. After complaining to her parents, her mother teaches her a great lesson on fairness. Alexa is so impressed with her mother's example she decides to try it out at school with her friends. Will Alexa be able to show fairness to all her friends at school?

Metal Man

Aaron Reynolds (author), Paul Hoppe (illustrator) (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580891516

Devon visits the Metal Man at his fiery workshop every day, despite the scorching heat of the city where he lives. At the Metal Man's shop, sparks fly from his welding torch as he cuts and melts together old pieces of junk into works of art. Devon is fascinated by the Metal Man's creations. Then one day, the Metal Man lets Devon put his own imagination to work. Aaron Reynolds's urban voice and the gritty illustrations of Paul Hoppe bring an exciting beat and pulse to the story of a young boy discovering his own voice and vision in art with a kind mentor to lead the way.

"What Did He Say?": A Book about Quotation Marks

Tessa Kenan (author) Anthony Lewis (illustrator)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781607538318

Trey’s friends keep misinterpreting his story of a new pet, as the characters learn how to correctly use quotation marks in a sentence.

We're Going to the Smiths' House: A Book about Apostrophes

Marie Powell (author) Anthony Lewis (illustrator)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781607538332

Mya and Trey search for their friend’s house and help each other learn how to correctly use apostrophes in a sentence.

Stop Right There: A Book about Periods

Marie Powell (author) Anthony Lewis (illustrator)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781607538349

Emma and Jane play together and teach Emma’s dog commands while learning how to correctly use periods in a sentence.

Take a Pause, Paul: A Book about Commas

Marie Powell (author) Anthony Lewis (illustrator)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781607538356

Paul excitedly shows Mya around her new school, while both learn how to correctly use commas in a sentence.