Search Results: 136 books from 17 publishers. Learn more

Mr. Petalucha P.E.

Betsy Sueltenfuss (author) Blanche Sims (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380352

Mr. Petalucha isn't called a painter extraordinaire for nothing.

No Ordinary Frog and Other Stories

Neal Levin (author) David Galchutt (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380383

A frog and a spider figure out how to help one another.

Rusty's Nap

Nancy M. Phillips (author) Stevie Mahardhika (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380413

Rusty is trying to take a nap but things keep happening! He has to chase a fox get the cows back in their pasture and scare the crows away from the corn.

The Adviser

Susan C. Hall (author) Anni Matsick (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380468

Darren takes a classmate's suggestion to play smart when he finally gets a chance at bat.

A Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience

Sandra Beswetherick (author) David Leonard (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380086

A series of misadventures turn into fun for Derrick and Steve.

A Chilling Thrill

Karen Dowicz Haas (author) Les Gray (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380062

How can the school ski trip be fun if Carly has no friends?

The Weird Day with Walden

M. Coutts (author) Chris Jones (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643039183

Tim is excited to discover a new boy has moved in next door. After a somewhat confusing day of making plans, he discovers the one boy is actually a set of twins.

Holly's Lantern

Nancy E. Walker-Guye (author) Barbara Nascimbeni (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643039718

Holly Hedgehog is afraid of the stormy night so Dad lights the lantern that hangs just outside her bedroom window. The light provides a beacon of safety for two of her friends. When she wakes in the morning, she finds her lantern no longer hanging outside her window. Instead it's on the front porch. How did it get there? Her friends come by and tell her how her lantern helped both of them navigate through the storm.

The Perfectly Perfect Picnic

Lissa Rovetch (author) Amanda Morley Miller (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038919

Arizona and Mareya's perfect potluck picnic doesn't go as perfectly as they'd hoped. Everyone brings potato salad!

An Extreme Case of Jealousy

Lissa Rovetch (author) Amanda Morley Miller (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038940

Arizona can't help feeling envious of a girl at camp -- then finds out the girl admires her, too.

Break That Press

Rich Wallace (author) Gary Undercuffler (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380109

Real teamwork wins the game for the Hawks.

How to Celebrate a Birthday

Lissa Rovetch (author) Amy Wummer (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643039008

Tex, Indi, and Kate brainstorm what to do for Kate's birthday party. They decide to have a cool party with popsicles and running through the sprinkler.

Athena and the Dandelions

Leeann Zouras (author) Holly Hatam (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038650

Athena's family's custom of picking and cooking dandelion greens embarrasses Athena. But when she sees her new friend try the food, she realizes she could be more open-minded herself.

Jasmine Girl

Jey Manokaran (author) Hatem Aly (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038223

Shanti wants a doll she sees in a shop, so she earns money by selling garlands of jasmine. She then selflessly gives the money to her best friend for her little brother's expensive medicine, and later, her best friend buys her the doll.

The Case of the Missing Left Shoe

Debbie Urbanski (author) Jess Pauwels (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037226

Nina, who runs a detective agency out of her bedroom closet, takes on the mystery of her little brother's missing shoe. After she and Teddy find the shoe, Nina pieces together clues to figure out why the shoe went missing in the first place.

Heart Surprises

Clare Mishica (author) Jenn Bower (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037073

When shy Mouse discovers Squirrel eating her bag of gummy hearts at a Valentine's party, she decides it's ok to share. After eating the candy together while sharing stories, Mouse realizes, embarrassed, that the candy had belonged to Squirrel all along.

Impossible to Train

David Hill (author) Jennifer Harney (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037165

Three friends discuss their silly, embarrassing, untrainable pets. It's not until the end that we discover the friends are dogs, and the pets they refer to are human!

Family and Friends/Familia y Amigos

Kathleen Petelinsek (author)

Publisher: The Child's World ISBN: 9781602536982

Want a new way to show someone who your best friend is? How about using signs to tell your classmates about your family? Young readers will be delighted to learn a new way to discuss their favorite people. Both Spanish and English translations encourage kids to explore different languages and methods of communication.

The Three Little Worms

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374779

Little worms! Squirmy Wormy and Mortimer are three little worms who know how to have big fun! See what happens when they play jump rope, or when they enter a talent contest. What will they get up to next? Stories by David L. Roper.

The Adventures of Spot: Time for a Nap

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374540

Time for a nap! Spot tries to find a peaceful place to nap. On a sunny day, Spot naps in the shade. Playing with a new toy can be exhausting for a puppy like Spot. Spot wants to take a nap but Splinter wants to play. A fly disturbs Spot as he tries to nap. Stories by Marileta Robinson and Highlights for Children.

What's the Trick?

Caroline E. Walsh (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990054

A chance friendship with an elderly ex-magician helps Jared come to terms with the tensions in his own family.

The Gotcha Plot

Margo Sorenson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849552

Two boys harassed by a group of rowdy kids at school get their revenge when they stumble into the school custodian's cleaning closet and find something very unusual.

Courage on the Causeway

Sarah Beurskens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849330

Gabby finds herself in a courageous situation when she is exploring the causeway and thinking about things that are bothering her. Someone needs help and she's the only one around who knows the causeway well enough to save the person.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Honey Bear's Blue Bathing Suit

Todd H. Doodler (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609052034

Honey Bear is having a summertime birthday party at the beach. After her friends choose the perfect birthday presents - a blue swimsuit and beach-y accessories - they head to the shore for volleyball, a scavenger hunt, and, of course, birthday cake! Young readers will enjoy best-selling author/illustrator Todd Goldman's signature style and familiar characters, this time in a summer setting. Bear in Blue Bathing Suit is a perfect addition to Bear in Underwear, Bear in Pink Underwear, and Bear in Long Underwear.