Search Results: 150 books from 18 publishers. Learn more

An Extreme Case of Jealousy

Lissa Rovetch (author) Amanda Morley Miller (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038940

Arizona can't help feeling envious of a girl at camp -- then finds out the girl admires her, too.

Break That Press

Rich Wallace (author) Gary Undercuffler (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781682380109

Real teamwork wins the game for the Hawks.

How to Celebrate a Birthday

Lissa Rovetch (author) Amy Wummer (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643039008

Tex, Indi, and Kate brainstorm what to do for Kate's birthday party. They decide to have a cool party with popsicles and running through the sprinkler.

Athena and the Dandelions

Leeann Zouras (author) Holly Hatam (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038650

Athena's family's custom of picking and cooking dandelion greens embarrasses Athena. But when she sees her new friend try the food, she realizes she could be more open-minded herself.

Jasmine Girl

Jey Manokaran (author) Hatem Aly (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038223

Shanti wants a doll she sees in a shop, so she earns money by selling garlands of jasmine. She then selflessly gives the money to her best friend for her little brother's expensive medicine, and later, her best friend buys her the doll.

The Case of the Missing Left Shoe

Debbie Urbanski (author) Jess Pauwels (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037226

Nina, who runs a detective agency out of her bedroom closet, takes on the mystery of her little brother's missing shoe. After she and Teddy find the shoe, Nina pieces together clues to figure out why the shoe went missing in the first place.

Heart Surprises

Clare Mishica (author) Jenn Bower (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037073

When shy Mouse discovers Squirrel eating her bag of gummy hearts at a Valentine's party, she decides it's ok to share. After eating the candy together while sharing stories, Mouse realizes, embarrassed, that the candy had belonged to Squirrel all along.

Impossible to Train

David Hill (author) Jennifer Harney (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037165

Three friends discuss their silly, embarrassing, untrainable pets. It's not until the end that we discover the friends are dogs, and the pets they refer to are human!

Family and Friends/Familia y Amigos

Kathleen Petelinsek (author)

Publisher: The Child's World ISBN: 9781602536982

Want a new way to show someone who your best friend is? How about using signs to tell your classmates about your family? Young readers will be delighted to learn a new way to discuss their favorite people. Both Spanish and English translations encourage kids to explore different languages and methods of communication.

The Three Little Worms

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374779

Little worms! Squirmy Wormy and Mortimer are three little worms who know how to have big fun! See what happens when they play jump rope, or when they enter a talent contest. What will they get up to next? Stories by David L. Roper.

The Adventures of Spot: Time for a Nap

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374540

Time for a nap! Spot tries to find a peaceful place to nap. On a sunny day, Spot naps in the shade. Playing with a new toy can be exhausting for a puppy like Spot. Spot wants to take a nap but Splinter wants to play. A fly disturbs Spot as he tries to nap. Stories by Marileta Robinson and Highlights for Children.

What's the Trick?

Caroline E. Walsh (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990054

A chance friendship with an elderly ex-magician helps Jared come to terms with the tensions in his own family.

The Gotcha Plot

Margo Sorenson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849552

Two boys harassed by a group of rowdy kids at school get their revenge when they stumble into the school custodian's cleaning closet and find something very unusual.

Courage on the Causeway

Sarah Beurskens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849330

Gabby finds herself in a courageous situation when she is exploring the causeway and thinking about things that are bothering her. Someone needs help and she's the only one around who knows the causeway well enough to save the person.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Honey Bear's Blue Bathing Suit

Todd H. Doodler (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609052034

Honey Bear is having a summertime birthday party at the beach. After her friends choose the perfect birthday presents - a blue swimsuit and beach-y accessories - they head to the shore for volleyball, a scavenger hunt, and, of course, birthday cake! Young readers will enjoy best-selling author/illustrator Todd Goldman's signature style and familiar characters, this time in a summer setting. Bear in Blue Bathing Suit is a perfect addition to Bear in Underwear, Bear in Pink Underwear, and Bear in Long Underwear.

Secret of the School Suitor

Jessica Anderson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305785

Divya’s day started out rough. She almost missed the bus and had a rough ride to school. Divya knew that her rough day was nothing compared to what Bus Driver McCool was going through. He never forgot Divya or drove like a race car driver. Something was up. Determined to find out answers and help, Divya follows Bus Driver McCool. What she finds out is not at all what she thought. These mysteries are perfect for your early fluent reader. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, these are suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. Paired to the nonfiction title Winning by Giving.

Case of the Uncrackable Code

Kyla Steinkraus (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305839

Even though Rocket is the fastest kid in third grade, his dyslexia makes him a slow reader. When he finds coded notes, Rocket knows he needs the help of his friends, the Gumshoe Gang. Together they try crack the secret messages but kind they are stuck. Can the Gumshoe gang crack this case? Is Mrs. Flores in danger? And is the new computer teacher really an alien? These mysteries are perfect for your early fluent reader. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, these are suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. Paired to the nonfiction title Wining by Working.

Case of Foul Play on a School Day

Jessica Anderson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305815

Queeneka loves fashion, and a good mystery. So when there were missing kickball at Watson Elementary she was on the case! Who would take the kickballs? Why is Mr. Hambrick giving her the evil eye? And why are fourth graders so mean? Making a new friend along the way, Queeneka and Keely question suspects, encounter giant fourth graders, and learn that everyone is embarrassed about something. These mysteries are perfectly suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, they are just the right fit for your early fluent reader. Paired to the nonfiction title Everyone Goes to School.

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

Fuzzy, Furry Hat

Etienne Delessert (author)Etienne Delessert (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566607889

A lonely bear who lives in a magical tree provides shelter for countless animals in his fuzzy, furry hat as they all withstand a deluge and become forever friends.

Where Do I End and You Begin?

Shulamith Oppenheim (author)Monique Felix (illustrator)

Publisher: The Creative Company ISBN: 9781566606271

A sweetly poetic tribute to the interconnectedness of creatures and the natural world as well as humans and our loving relationships with one another is delicately rendered by artist Monique Felix.

Metal Man

Aaron Reynolds (author), Paul Hoppe (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580891516

Devon visits the Metal Man at his fiery workshop every day, despite the scorching heat of the city where he lives. At the Metal Man's shop, sparks fly from his welding torch as he cuts and melts together old pieces of junk into works of art. Devon is fascinated by the Metal Man's creations. Then one day, the Metal Man lets Devon put his own imagination to work. Aaron Reynolds's urban voice and the gritty illustrations of Paul Hoppe bring an exciting beat and pulse to the story of a young boy discovering his own voice and vision in art with a kind mentor to lead the way.

Andrew and the Birthday Surprise: The Boy Who Cried Wolf Remixed

Connie Colwell Miller (author)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781681510750

In this modern-day re-telling of Aesop's fable The Boy Who Cried Wolf, Andrew ruins a surprise his sisters are making for his mom when he gets bored and cries wolf too many times. Includes original fable, compare and contrast questions, and short bio of Aesop.

Robot Rescue

Thomas Kingsley Troupe (author)

Publisher: Amicus Publishing ISBN: 9781621432814

When his little brother loses the class hamster, Marco Martinez comes to the rescue with a robot and some coding tricks. But will a robot rescue mission be enough to catch this speedy rodent?