Search Results: 96 books from 15 publishers. Learn more

The Tortoise and the Hare Retold

Eric Braun, Aesop (authors)

Publisher: Black Rabbit Books ISBN: 9781623104009

Two retellings (one modern, one traditional) of the classic fable that follows the events of the famous race between the boastful hare and the persevering tortoise. Includes discussion questions and examines the moral of the fable.

The Three Little Pigs

Robin Twiddy (author) Amy Li (illustrator)

Publisher: Bearport Publishing ISBN: 9781647473761

How could a big, bad wolf blow down a house? With science! Read along with Professor Everafter as he explains the STEM behind this favorite fairy tale. 

Rapunzel

Robin Twiddy (author) Amy Li (illustrator)

Publisher: Bearport Publishing ISBN: 9781647473754

Rapunzel, Rapunzel. Let down your hair. Wait, is hair strong enough for a human to use it to climb up a tower? Yes! Professor Everafter explains how using STEM.

Jack and the Beanstalk

Robin Twiddy (author) Amy Li (illustrator)

Publisher: Bearport Publishing ISBN: 9781647473747

Jack climbed up a giant beanstalk that shot straight to the sky. But what would it take for a beanstalk to grow so tall? And how does it stay standing? Professor Everafter and STEM have the answers! 

Hansel and Gretel

Robin Twiddy (author) Amy Li (illustrator)

Publisher: Bearport Publishing ISBN: 9781647473730

Have you ever wondered how that gingerbread house Hansel and Gretel munched on in the middle of the woods stood up in the first place? Learn the STEM behind the fairy tale with the help of Professor Everafter. 

Snow White and the Seven Trolls

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634401050

As in the classic tale our Snow White falls under the spell of the evil Queen. But who gets left behind when her Prince arrives?

Little Dead Riding Hood

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634401029

In the classic Grimm's tale told to children for centuries, our heroine is wise to the Wolf in granda's clothing. But did the story really end there?

Jack and the Bloody Beanstalk

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634400992

Jack and his poor mother follow all the rules of this classic tale. But can they escape the raging Giant?

Hansel and Gretel and the Haunted Hut

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634400961

Poor Hansel and Gretel, cast out on their own by a wicked stepmother. You may think you know how the story ends, but think again!

Goldilocks and the Three Ghosts

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634400930

Goldilocks may have escaped the wrath of the 3 bears, but her luck runs out when this busy-body stumbles into a haunted house.

Cinderella and the Vampire Prince

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634400909

You may know the story of the downtrodden girl who meets her Prince Charming. But our Cinder-Ella rules the dark night with her new Prince.

Rapunzel and the Werewolf

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634401678

Rapunzel with the long dark hair, was the most beautiful girl in the land. But after a deal is made with the witch, Rapunzel is sent to the tower. When a Prince wanders by, the two soon fall in love. Can they outwit the witch or must they suffer from her curse?

Ten Missing Princesses

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634401685

When the King asks a soldier to solve a mystery, he has no idea of the mysteries that will be discovered. Follow along and see for yourself, as the princesses dance the night away.

The Princess and the Poison Pea

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634401661

The King and evil Queen are looking for a proper Princess to marry their Prince. When a Princess is found, will they all live happily ever after? Or will they live at all?

The Bremen Town Ghosts

Wiley Blevins (author) Steve Cox (illustrator)

Publisher: Red Chair Press LLC ISBN: 9781634401654

Off to Bremen Town go Donkey, Cat, Dog, and Rooster. But music is not on their minds. They’re tired of their cruel masters and set out in search of a better life. Is fate kind to the gang?

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401978

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen if Snow White took her amazing cleaning and organizing skills and applied them to business. In this fun and beautifully-illustrated story, Snow White takes control of her own fate and improves the lives of everyone around her, without any help from a prince. This fairy tale retelling is a short chapter book suitable as a read aloud or for young, advanced readers. It's perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin's Catwings or Ruth Stiles Gannett's My Father's Dragon.

Tales of Sherlock Holmes

L.L. Owens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990382

Offers young readers a look at four adventures of the famous English detective, Sherlock Holmes, from stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Tales of Enchantment

Karen Berg Douglas (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990238

Offers young readers a look at four magical stories from the "Arabian Nights" and Scandinavia.

Tales of Latin America

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990313

Extend cultural boundaries with this collection of fantastic folktales and legends from Latin America.

Tales of the Old West

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990436

Offers young readers a look at the adventures of James Butler Hickock and Gold Rush-era hotelier Luzena Stanley Wilson, as well as Western stories by Bret Harte, Mark Twain, and O. Henry.

Tales of Yore

Janice Kuharski (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990481

Retold versions of several classic tales including Rapunzel and The Steadfast Tin Soldier will delight readers.

Tales of Heroes

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990283

Offers young readers a look at Jason, King Arthur, and other heroes of myth, history, and literature.

Tales of the Seven Wonders

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990443

Offers young readers a look at the origins of the tombs, temples, statuary, and other ancient creations known as the "Seven Wonders of the World" and what became of them.

Tales of O. Henry

Peg Hall (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990368

Offers young readers a look at stories that end with surprising changes from the works of O. Henry.

Tales of Silliness

Kuharski, Janice (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990399

Offers young readers a look at four comic tales, including "The Six Sillies," "Blockhead Hans," and "The Emperor's New CLothes."