Search Results: 336 books from 24 publishers. Learn more

Reading to Max

Heather Klassen (author) Renee Kurilla (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037776

Ben discovers that reading gets easier when he reads to Max, a cat at the shelter. When Max is adopted from the shelter, Ben is disappointed--but then his neighbor has a surprise for Ben.

Across the Playground

Linda Kao (author) Tracy Bishop (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038698

Annie figures out a way to comfort her little brother when he's feeling homesick on his first day of school.

No Turkey Required

Kate MacEachern (author) Hatem Aly (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643038490

Ashley can't wait to see her best friend for Thanksgiving since she hasn't seen her in 5 months. But then the weather strands Ashley and her mom at a rest stop, and they eat a Thanksgiving meal with strangers, including the cranberry pie Ashley had been anxious to share with her best friend.

Enjoy the Show!

Eileen Spinelli (author) Rose Mary Berlin (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037486

Little Bunny's friends put on a talent show in the backyard. Squirrel feels badly that he has nothing to contribute. But at the end of the show, he realizes it's important to be a member of the audience.

The Older One

Eileen Spinelli (author) Rose Mary Berlin (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037639

Little Bunny thinks it might be better to be the younger child in the family. Baby Bunny can get away with things that Little Bunny can't. But when bedtime rolls around, and Little Bunny can stay up later, he realizes that there are advantages to being the big brother.

Baby Bunny and the Storm

Eileen Spinelli (author) Rose Mary Berlin (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037417

This short verse comforts Baby Bunny during a thunderstorm. She waits with her big brother, Little Bunny, until the rain passes and the sun comes out again.

Little Bunny's New Neighbor

Eileen Spinelli (author) Rose Mary Berlin (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037523

Little Bunny and his friends worry about their grouchy new neighbor. Little Bunny learns how simple kindness can turn a grouch into a friend.

Magic Words

David L. Roper (author) Logan S. Kline (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037189

In the process of learning how to do magic tricks, Wormy discovers the importance of words like please, thank you and I'm sorry.

Heart Surprises

Clare Mishica (author) Jenn Bower (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037073

When shy Mouse discovers Squirrel eating her bag of gummy hearts at a Valentine's party, she decides it's ok to share. After eating the candy together while sharing stories, Mouse realizes, embarrassed, that the candy had belonged to Squirrel all along.

A Gift for You!

Ana Galan (author) Francesca Assirelli (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643036557

Chica-Chick and Grandma Hen use strawberries from their garden to make lots of jam. Chica-Chick suggests giving the jam as gifts to all their friends and the local community helpers. She's disappointed when she discovers they have given away all the jam. But she is delighted when Grandma Hen presents her with the biggest jar of all - a present for her.

Bella's Pizza Pie

Diana Murray (author) Zachariah O'Hora (illustrator)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781643037271

A gopher is making pizza and when her friends come calling, she invites them all in and they share the pie.

One Red Sock

Jennifer Sattler (author) Jennifer Sattler (illustrator)

Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press ISBN: 9781534146167

A little purple hippo faces a dilemma. While getting dressed one day, she realizes that she is missing a red sock. But as she searches throughout her sock drawer, she cannot find a suitable replacement. From blue to green and gray to white, nothing she finds will match. But does that really matter? This new picture-book offering from Jennifer Sattler (Bully) reminds readers of all ages of the enjoyment that may occur when one lets go and embraces imperfection.

I Can Be Kind

Jessica Pippin (author), Marc Mons (illustrator)

Publisher: Newmark Learning ISBN: 9781478804673

Mike spends the day at his favorite place, the aquarium! When he loses his favorite toy, he learns the importance of kindness. MySELF (Social Emotional Learning Foundations) helps children build social and emotional intelligence and literacy skills through shared reading of engaging texts that prompt discussions about real-world experiences. Child-centered themes support social and emotional growth, address Common Core Foundational Reading Skills Standards, and integrate family involvement with classroom instruction. Stories are written from the first person perspective and center around a diverse group of relatable children. Real-world photos, high-quality illustrations, and delightful narrators aid in teaching social and emotional skills without a heavy-handed approach.

Donating

Jennifer Colby (author) Jeff Bane (illustrator)

Publisher: Cherry Lake Publishing ISBN: 9781534130692

Donating uses the National Standards in K-12 Personal Finance Education by the Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy. The book provides the earliest of readers a background in the different ways to donate. Simple sentence structure and word usage help readers develop word recognition and reading skills. Includes a glossary and index.

Words Are Like Faces

Edith Baer (author), Kyra Teis (illustrator)

Publisher: Star Bright Books ISBN: 9781595724212

The reissue of Edith Baer's classic poem is a celebration of the power of kind words.

Watch Out For Wolfgang

Paul Carrick (Illustrator) (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781570916892

Paul Carrick recycles The Three Little Pigs into a humorous fractured fairy tale about being yourself. An old mother robot sends her three sons, Rod, Slick, and Dudley, out into the world to seek their fortunes. But Wolfgang the Recycler is after them for their precious parts. How will the three robots protect themselves and their factories from clever Wolfgang?

The Adventures of Spot: Hungry, Hungry Spot

Highlights for Children (author)

Publisher: Highlights ISBN: 9781684374571

Spot is hungry but can't find anything to eat. Spot buries his biscuit to keep it safe. Spot sniffs around outside to capture different scents. Spot hears his favorite sound… dinner! Spot enjoys different times of day. Stories by Marileta Robinson.

The Blue Bike Wins!

Joanne Meier (author) Bob Ostrom (illustrator)

Publisher: The Child's World ISBN: 9781602539365

Herbie Bear is sure his favorite blue bike is the fastest around. But can he win in a race against Samantha?

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Lola Gets a Cat

Anna McQuinn (author) Rosalind Beardshaw (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580897365

Lola wants a cat, but Mommy says taking care of a pet is a lot of work. So Lola does her homework. At the library she finds books about cats and pet care and she and Mommy learn as much as they can. She pretends her stuffed kitty is real and practices taking care of it. When the time comes, Lola is allowed to pick out her new friend at an animal shelter. With patience and care, her kitten settles in at home. Lola is a book-loving favorite, and this delightful story is a new treasure in the series.

Priceless Gifts

Martha Hamilton, Mitch Weiss (author), John Kanzler (illustrator)

Publisher: August House ISBN: 9780874837889

A humorous retelling of an Italian tale in which a Genoese merchant, richly rewarded for solving an irritating problem for the king of the Spice Islands, causes a greedy rival to try and gain a fortune in the same way.

Evan in the Middle

Kelli Hicks (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305693

Being in the middle can be hard. Evan is in the middle of his family and he doesn’t know where he fits in. He’s too small to play with his older brothers but too big to play with his younger brother and sister. He just wants to be big. Being big will make everything better – right? Paired to the nonfiction title Your Family Tree.

Jaylah's Jitters

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305709

Jaylah’s family is thrilled that everyone will be together soon in Florida. Except Jaylah. Thinking about what will happen when she gets there is making her tummy feels like it’s full of buzzing bees. That’s why she decides to make a plan that will get her out of the whole scary affair. But will her plan ruin everything for the people she loves? Paired to the nonfiction title Everyone Visits Family.

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

The Well of Truth: a folktale from Egypt

Martha Hamilton, Mitch Weiss (author), Tom Wrenn (illustrator)

Publisher: August House ISBN: 9780874838800

When Goat, Rooster, and Donkey decide to try their hand at farming, Donkey learns the price of being greedy and discovers that the truth will always come out in the end.