Search Results: 289 books from 17 publishers. Learn more

Top Fin: Dolphin Dives

Addie Meyer Sanders (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781622990009

Kelly, one of a group of students with special needs chosen to participate in Dolphin Dives, finds her voice again after not speaking for three years when one of the animals is threatened by a very angry boy.

Survival at Big Shark Key

Dorothy Francis (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849941

When Grady's family moves to a deserted island in the Florida Keys, the family finds more activity than expected as a hurricane comes their way.

T.J. Westin, Man of the House

Linda Sibley (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849958

T.J. can't believe it when he wins a trip to New York to be a contestant on Whiz Kid. Will he make his family proud?

Kimo and the Secret Waves

Margo Sorenson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849637

During his summer in Hawaii, Kimo repeatedly visits a secret and forbidden beach, ignoring several frightening warning signs. Who is threatening him and why?

Gypsy in the Cellar

Bonnie Highsmith Taylor (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849569

Doreen, a young Gypsy girl, struggles with both her own prejudices and those of others when she becomes separated from her family and is cared for by two sisters who insist she attend school regularly.

Funny Man

Margo Sorenson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849521

Eighth-grader Derrick wants to be a stand-up comedian, but his football coach, his parents, Joe, his boss at Taste of Italy, his English teacher Dowling the Dragon, and his Mr. Perfect older brother Craig don't think he's so funny. When Derrick discovers he needs a B on an English paper to stay eligible for football, how can he tame his smart mouth to stay out of trouble?

Javier's Dream

Linda Sibley (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849606

While spending the summer on his grandparents' Texas cotton farm, Michael sees a teenage boy on the other side of the Rio Grande in Mexico. He starts to write letters to Javier, and then helps him cross the river to come into the United States.

For Honey

Bonnie Highsmith Taylor (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849507

After being sent from one foster home to another, Patrick finally settles in with the Kellys, where he learns the meaning of trust and how to love when he rescues and takes care of a skunk he names Honey, who was caught in a trap.

Recipe for a Rebel

Lori Pollard-Johnson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849798

After his dad leaves, Matt Delaney rebels and his erratic behavior lands him in the vice-principal's office. He is assigned a new class schedule which includes a cooking class. Matt is a rebel, not a joiner, and this could be a recipe for disaster.

Don't Bug Me

Margo Sorenson (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849453

Zack's dad drives him to his new middle school in the bug truck, and his new classmates tease him about his father's pest-control business. How can he handle the hassles?

Buddies for Life

Kaarin Marx-Smith (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849231

Josh has tried everything to win his dad's approval, but so far nothing has worked. Will things change when the two become scuba diving buddies?

Courage on the Causeway

Sarah Beurskens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849330

Gabby finds herself in a courageous situation when she is exploring the causeway and thinking about things that are bothering her. Someone needs help and she's the only one around who knows the causeway well enough to save the person.

Tiger Boy

Mitali Perkins (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607346647

When a tiger cub goes missing from the reserve, Neil is determined to find her before the greedy Gupta gets his hands on her to kill her and sell her body parts on the black market. Neil's parents, however, are counting on him to study hard and win a prestigious scholarship to study in Kolkata. Neil doesn't want to leave his family or his island home and he struggles with his familial duty and his desire to maintain the beauty and wildness of his island home in West Bengal's Sunderbans.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Priceless Gifts

Martha Hamilton, Mitch Weiss (author), John Kanzler (illustrator)

Publisher: August House ISBN: 9780874837889

A humorous retelling of an Italian tale in which a Genoese merchant, richly rewarded for solving an irritating problem for the king of the Spice Islands, causes a greedy rival to try and gain a fortune in the same way.

Mystery of the Pink Owl Flu

Jessica Anderson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305808

Romy was having a bad morning. To top it off he didn’t get to be Nurse Strongman’s assistant because he was late to school. He felt really bad for letting Nurse Strongman down but maybe he could make it up to him! A new case just FLEW into his lap: who turned the owl mascot pink? Romy, hoping to solve the case alone, quickly accuses many of his friends without having all his facts. Can Romy solve the case and keep his friends? Will he make his parents and Nurse Strongman proud? These mysteries are perfectly suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, they are just the right fit for your early fluent reader. Paired to the nonfiction title Skills for School Success.

Evan in the Middle

Kelli Hicks (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305693

Being in the middle can be hard. Evan is in the middle of his family and he doesn’t know where he fits in. He’s too small to play with his older brothers but too big to play with his younger brother and sister. He just wants to be big. Being big will make everything better – right? Paired to the nonfiction title Your Family Tree.

Case of the Sabotaged Spaghetti

Jessica Anderson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305792

Klaude is the class clown. He likes to make people laugh but not everyone finds him funny. The Golden Spoon Award is given to students who display proper lunchroom behavior and Klaude is one of the winners! He’s never won anything in his life! But not everyone is excited and they are showing it. During the special luncheon someone sabotages his spaghetti, takes a bite out of his cake, and breaks his first trophy ever. Who would be so mean to him? Why is someone so mad at Klaude for winning the Golden Spoon Award? More importantly, will he get a new slice of cake? These mysteries are perfect for your early fluent reader. With longer sentences and fewer illustrations, these are suited to keep readers guessing as they solve for clues. Paired to the nonfiction title STEM Guides to Food and Nutrition.

Jaylah's Jitters

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305709

Jaylah’s family is thrilled that everyone will be together soon in Florida. Except Jaylah. Thinking about what will happen when she gets there is making her tummy feels like it’s full of buzzing bees. That’s why she decides to make a plan that will get her out of the whole scary affair. But will her plan ruin everything for the people she loves? Paired to the nonfiction title Everyone Visits Family.

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

The Well of Truth: a folktale from Egypt

Martha Hamilton, Mitch Weiss (author), Tom Wrenn (illustrator)

Publisher: August House ISBN: 9780874838800

When Goat, Rooster, and Donkey decide to try their hand at farming, Donkey learns the price of being greedy and discovers that the truth will always come out in the end.

Review It! Helping Peers Create Their Best Work

Kristin Fontichiaro (author), Kathleen Petelinsek (illustrator)

Publisher: Cherry Lake Publishing ISBN: 9781631888892

Learn how to review other people's work and provide constructive advice with these fun activities. Students will practice giving tactful critiques, a foundational skill that will benefit them both academically and personally. Additional text features and search tools, including a glossary and an index, help students locate information and learn new words.

Power Play

Kyla Steinkraus (author), Alan Brown (illustrator)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781681919119

A bully makes life awful for Paisley. An unlikely ally helps her build a machine that could shed some light on the bully's behavior.

A Case of Sense

Songju Ma Daemicke (author), Shennen Bersani (illustrator)

Publisher: Arbordale Publishing ISBN: 9781628558555

While Ming plays outside one summer day, the smell of delicious food fills the air. It is coming from greedy Fu Wangs house, What is he up to? wonders Ming. To his alarm, Fu Wang demands that all the neighbors pay him for the pleasant smells. When the neighbors refuse, the case goes to court. How will the judge rule in this unusual case? Can Fu Wang make money from the neighbors sense of smell? A wise judge makes use of another sense to close the case with clever and convincing logic.

Play It Safe Online

Phyllis Cornwall (author)

Publisher: Cherry Lake Publishing ISBN: 9781610803731

Introduces proper online safety for children, including cyberbullies, limiting personal information, and being responsible.