Search Results: 53 books from 8 publishers. Learn more

The Fantasy Soccer Wall

Anne Bryant, Kelly Kennedy (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116598

Harry really wants to win his team's soccer game and earn the respect of his teammate Brad. However, things do not go as planned. Then, one day, Harry discovers the wall at the end of the playground and its strange magical powers. Soon every wish Harry makes comes true!

The Magic Scooter

Julia Jarman, Sam Hearn (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116604

Caspar can't take his eyes off his new birthday present - a new scooter! He soon finds out it's not just any scooter but one with magical, time-traveling powers.

The Pirate's Daughter

Christophe Miraucourt, Delphine Vaufrey (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116628

Melinda is struggling to find a birthday present for her Dad. What do you get a pirate who has everything?! Her brother Ricky starts to cause trouble and before you know it the two of them get themselves into terrible danger.

The Night of the Were-Boy

Enid Richemont, Gustavo Mazali (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116611

There is a full moon and Frankie the cat is feeling rather strange. Then something quite incredible suddenly starts to happen!

The Pop Star Pirates

Maggie Pearson, Dan Chernett (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116635

When three boys all run away from home to try and live like pirates, life is easy at first. Then they meet Bonnie-Ann who trains them like real pirates. But their real talent turns out to be more musical.

Pirate Treasure

Christophe Miraucourt, Delphine Vaufrey (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116574

Melinda and her brother Ricky discover the whereabouts of some secret treasure! However, the sinister Captain Crook is after the treasure too and takes the children to Skeleton Island where they must find the treasure or await their doom!

Betty Q Investigates

Karyn Gorman, Maddy McClellan (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116567

Betty Q is no ordinary girl. She is an ace detective whose special deductive powers can solve any mystery!

The Egyptian Cat Mystery

Penny Dolan, Andy Elkerton (author)

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company ISBN: 9781427116581

There is something very strange about the Egyptian cat that Jed and Ruby spot in the museum, hidden among the Ancient Egyptian artifacts. Later on they come across a real cat, who follows them home. But this is no ordinary cat, as they are about to find out.

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401893

Twelve Terribly Active Princesses who were not Exactly Dancing is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen in the twelve dancing princesses were actually sneaking into a fairy world in order to play baseball. In this fun and beautifully illustrated story, the 12 princesses take their baseball skills to the next level when an unassuming young field manager stumbles on to their secret.

Best Beast

Teena Raffa-Mulligan (author) Jess Smart Smiley (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781623957476

When a little girl wishes she could have a pet, she gets more than she asked for. Amy wants a pet so she can enter the pet parade competition and win a holiday vacation for her family. Her dad is out of work and her mom insists the family can't afford a dog or cat or even a crab. When Amy receives a magic rock from a crazy old lady, she discovers that her pet may not just beat the competition, it just might eat them too!

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast

Michael Ann Dobbs (author) Bree Paulsen (illustrator)

Publisher: Xist Publishing ISBN: 9781532401978

Snow White, the Seven Dwarves, and the Adorable Bed and Breakfast is a “fractured fairy tale” that imagines what would happen if Snow White took her amazing cleaning and organizing skills and applied them to business. In this fun and beautifully-illustrated story, Snow White takes control of her own fate and improves the lives of everyone around her, without any help from a prince. This fairy tale retelling is a short chapter book suitable as a read aloud or for young, advanced readers. It's perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin's Catwings or Ruth Stiles Gannett's My Father's Dragon.

Lost Dog

Mia Coulton (author) Mia Coulton, Katherine Hood-Tatara (illustrators)

Publisher: MaryRuth Books ISBN: 9781925442017

Dad finds a homemade sign on the front door from Amy, a girl in the neighborhood, saying that her dog, Spot, is lost. Danny and Norman decide to become canine detectives and use their noses to search for Spot.

Rooster Instructor

Amy Cobb (author) (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532130267

Libby’s rooster, Doodle, doesn’t crow. He peeps. So, Libby starts Rooster School just for Doodle. She tries everything to teach him how to crow, but he just says peep. In a huff, she cancels Rooster School. A few days later while catching frogs, Libby hears Doodle crow from the barn! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.

Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring

Rebecca Bond (author)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580895941

In this early reader with five short chapters, emerging readers meet Pig and Goose. Pig is happy. She loves to dance. She loves to eat. But she cannot fly. And she cannot swim. Goose can fly like a bird. Goose can glide across the water beautifully. But he cannot tell stories or host a party like Pig can. Pig and Goose are very different. But what they do have in common is that they like each other. And they love springtime. Simple text and charming illustrations guide beginning readers throughout the story and encourage independent reading.

Evan in the Middle

Kelli Hicks (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305693

Being in the middle can be hard. Evan is in the middle of his family and he doesn’t know where he fits in. He’s too small to play with his older brothers but too big to play with his younger brother and sister. He just wants to be big. Being big will make everything better – right? Paired to the nonfiction title Your Family Tree.

Jaylah's Jitters

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305709

Jaylah’s family is thrilled that everyone will be together soon in Florida. Except Jaylah. Thinking about what will happen when she gets there is making her tummy feels like it’s full of buzzing bees. That’s why she decides to make a plan that will get her out of the whole scary affair. But will her plan ruin everything for the people she loves? Paired to the nonfiction title Everyone Visits Family.

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

The Costume Contest

Kirsten McDonald (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781624021824

Fall leaves and pumpkins are everywhere. Carlos and Carmen are making plans to be in the costume contest. They both want to win, but neither of them wants the other to lose. It’s a problem. A prize-winning problem! But with an old shirt, a pair of scissors, and a lot of creativity, the twins come up with a prize-winning solution. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.

Birdhouse Builder

Amy Cobb (author) (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532130236

It’s a snow day for Libby and Becca! That means making snow angels, sledding, and looking for animal tracks, which leads them to some hungry birds. Libby and Becca decide to help the birds. They build them a tree house to keep them warm and provide snacks so they won’t be hungry. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.

Bug Rescuer

Amy Cobb (author) (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532130243

Libby and her friend Becca are searching for bugs to finish their nature worksheet for school. They come across a dragonfly trapped in an old spider web. Very carefully, Libby frees the dragonfly and sets it free in a new home. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.

Goat Trainer

Amy Cobb (author) (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532130250

After attending her school’s pet show, Libby is inspired to teach her goat, Elvis, some tricks. But Elvis won’t catch a Frisbee. He nibbles on socks, rather than folding them. And he can’t speak French. Then Libby has an idea. She realizes Elvis is already great at making friends and making people laugh. Elvis will make the perfect therapy goat! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.

Elmer the Very Sneaky Sheep

Claudia Harrington (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781624021909

Without his bike, Hank was getting bored. Then a new neighbor named Tommy shows up, looking for a pet-sitter for his sheep. He warns Hank that Elmer can open doors. Book #4 in the series.

Freckles the Pig

Lisa Mullarkey (author) (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532140440

It’s fall cleanup time at Storm Cliff Stables, and Freckles wants to help! Unfortunately, his ideas for brightening up the place make for a muddy mess instead. Luckily, his farmyard friends know just what to do! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.

Golden Girl the Chicken

Lisa Mullarkey (author) (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532140464

Golden Girl is excited for her first Family Day at Storm Cliff Stables. But where is her family? She looks right. She looks left. No luck! Luckily, her farmyard friends know just what to do! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.

Gaston the Goat

Lisa Mullarkey (author) (author)

Publisher: ABDO ISBN: 9781532140457

A storm is coming to Storm Cliff Stables, and Gaston the goat is scared. Rain! Lightning! Thunder! Gaston fears he’ll never get to sleep with all that flashing and booming. Luckily, his farmyard friends know just what to do! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.