Red Cat Blue Cat

Jenni Desmond (author)

Publisher: Blue Apple Books ISBN: 9781609052485

Sign in to Read

Description

The accurately-named Red Cat and Blue Cat share a house and mutual antagonism. But each also secretly wishes that they could have some of the other's signature traits--Blue Cat is a smartypuss who's good at opening cans and the fridge; Red Cat can bounce across rooftops and zoom up the drapes. After two attempts to change to the other's color don't pan out, each instructs the other in the art of being the cat that they are not. And though Blue Cat and Red Cat try very hard to be a different sort of cat, the real change happens when they become friends. Until they spot Yellow Cat...who sings...really, really well...and the friends consider whether a new hue might be the way to go!

Reading Level
Lexile
Fountas Pinnell Guided Reading
ATOS
DRA
Categories
Genre
Character Education Friendship Picture Books
Interest Age
Ages 3-5 Ages 6-8
Grade
Kindergarten 1st Grade 2nd Grade 3rd Grade
Subject
Language Arts Social Studies
Language
English (US)
Fiction/Non-Fiction
Fiction
More Like This

Sharing the Green Ball

Cecilia Minden (author), Bob Ostrom (illustrator)

Publisher: The Child's World ISBN: 9781602539372

After the ball they're playing with gets ruined, Herbie Bear and his friend Michael must find an alternative. In their attempts to trade items for Herbie's younger brothers' ball, the boys learn a lesson in sharing.

Friends to the Rescue

David and Patricia Armentrout (author), Anita DuFalla (illustrator)

Publisher: Blue Door Education ISBN: 9780998148892

Everyone is having fun at the summer picnic until something terrible happens to Chester's lunch.

Poodle and Hound

Kathryn Lasky (author), Mitch Vane (illustrator) (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781580893220

Acclaimed author Kathryn Lasky explores the nature of friendship in three delightful stories for beginning readers. Creative, impulsive Poodle and loyal, dependable Hound are an unexpected pair. Together they star gaze, plant a garden and prove that two very different individuals can not only be compatible, they can complement and help one another. This book is good for your brain because: Friendship, Helpfulness, Language Arts

Wolfpack Gang Is Outta Sight!

Reese Everett (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781634305716

Deano was a star soccer player at her old school in Jamaica but she’s in a new school now, and things are so different. What’s this No Girls Allowed rule during recess? Jay is different from the other kids in her class. He reads with his fingers and has a cool dog he gets to bring to school! As Deano gets to know Jay, they realize they have a common interest: soccer. But how can Jay play soccer if he is blind? Will Deano ever be accepted by the soccer players even though she’s a girl? These relatable books with simple sentences and illustrations in every chapter, make them the perfect first chapter books for young readers. Paired to the nonfiction title Respecting Diversity.

A Fort to Share

Joanne Meier (author), Bob Ostrom (illustrator)

Publisher: The Child's World ISBN: 9781602539433

Herbie Bear and his siblings and friends decide to build a fort, but must learn to cooperate and share their items to get the job done.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!