Miriam's Secret

Debby Waldman (author)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781459814264

Sign in to Read

Description

In 1930 nine-year-old Miriam travels by train from Brooklyn to her grandparents' farm in upstate New York. Her grandparents are kind, generous people, but they aren't exactly ideal playmates for a lonely girl. When Miriam is not doing homework in the kitchen with Bubby or helping prepare meals for the migrant workers that Zayde hires to help out on the farm, she plays with the barn kittens born just before she arrived. Those kittens are her only friends, until the day Miriam discovers a young girl hiding in the barn. Cissy and her brother, Joe, who's one of Zayde's farm hands, are on the run from an abusive uncle back in Mississippi. Miriam and Cissy hit it off immediately. But their friendship is tested when Miriam is forced to choose between keeping a promise and doing the right thing.

Reading Level
Lexile
700L
Fountas Pinnell Guided Reading
Q
ATOS
4.5
DRA
40
Categories
Genre
Character Education Friendship
Interest Age
Ages 6-8 Ages 9-12
Grade
3rd Grade 4th Grade 5th Grade 6th Grade 7th Grade
Subject
Language Arts
Language
English (US)
Fiction/Non-Fiction
Fiction
More Like This

A Frog in my Throat

Frieda Wishinsky (author), Louise-Andrée Laliberté (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781551436326

Friends are not always for keeps. Kate and Jake have always been best friends; always, that is, until Jake's cousin, Lionel, moves nearby and Jake starts spending time with him instead. Kate struggles with his abandonment and her own loneliness as she seeks new friends that share her likes and dislikes. And, perhaps there is a place in her life for her old best friend after all.

Courage on the Causeway

Sarah Beurskens (author)

Publisher: Perfection Learning ISBN: 9781613849330

Gabby must find the courage to help rescue her classmate Jennifer, a girl who had teased Gabby in the past, from a dangerous causeway on top of a mountain trail.

Poppy's Best Paper

Susan Eaddy (author) Rosalinde Bonnet (illustrator)

Publisher: Charlesbridge ISBN: 9781607349112

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams - and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

A Bee in Your Ear

Frieda Wishinsky (author), Louise-Andrée Laliberté (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 9781551433240

Kate wants to enter the spelling bee, but she doesn't want to compete against her best friend. Kate is determined to win her spelling club's spelling bee, but the competition is fierce. She can almost put up with Violet's relentless claims of superior spelling ability, but when Kate and Jake begin to fight with each other, Kate is miserable. She wants to win the contest, but she doesn't want to lose her best friend.

Dimples Delight

Frieda Wishinsky (author), Louise-Andrée Laliberté (illustrator)

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers ISBN: 1551433621

Lawrence's dimples are far from delightful. Lawrence hates being teased about his dimples, but nothing he does seems to make any difference. Joe goes right on teasing him, and the teasing gets meaner and meaner. Finally, Lawrence notices something about his friend Stewart that may provide the tool he needs to tease-proof himself once and for all.

Vote For Me!

J. Jean Robertson (author)

Publisher: Rourke Publishing ISBN: 9781618104373

Priscilla Pony organizes the tasks needed to make posters for the new school President. Everyone works together and the job is a success.