If You Love Honey

If You Love Honey

Martha Sullivan (author), Cathy Morrison (illustrator)

Publisher: Dawn Publications ISBN: 9781584695356

Read Now

Description

Honey is a sweet gift from nature - ALL of nature, actually. Honey is linked in a very real way to dandelions, earthworms, mushrooms, the old oak tree and even the blue jays squawking in its branches. Take another look at honey. If you love natures honey, you are sure to love nature too. How sweet it is! The author fell in love with bees as an amateur beekeeper, and then learned to appreciate flowering plants even ones she once considered weeds as an important nectar source. And then she realized how the plants were connected to insects and soil. A simple but accurate diagram in the back matter explains how bees make honey and also pollinate plants, as well as the role of beneficial insects and decomposers. Also presented are activities and a recipe for children. Further activities are available at www.dawnpub.com.

Reading Level
Lexile
Fountas Pinnell Guided Reading
ATOS
DRA
Categories
Genre
Animals, Birds & Insects Games & Activities Nature
Interest Age
Ages 3-5 Ages 6-8 Ages 9-12
Grade
Kindergarten 1st Grade 2nd Grade 3rd Grade 4th Grade
Subject
Science
Language
English (US)
Type
Non-Fiction Fiction
More Like This

Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow

Marianne Berkes (author), Jill Dubin (illustrator)

Publisher: Dawn Publications ISBN: 9781584691846

Teachers and parents, here is another favorite from Marianne, who has a special talent. The kids think it is entertainment while teachers and parents think it is a great lesson about the Arctic! This book combines singing, counting, and full-body action with terrific cut-paper illustrations that kids will want to imitate. Over in the Arctic, the snow goose honks and the wolf howls. Children too will joyfully honk and howl while they count the baby animals and sing to the tune of Over in the Meadow. And they will hunt for hidden animals on each page. A big plus for educators are several pages of extension ideas for curriculum and art projects as well as resources on the web and elsewhere.

A Las Escondidas en el Océano

Jennifer Evans Kramer (author), Gary R. Phillips (illustrator)

Publisher: Arbordale Publishing ISBN: 9781607180463

El océano es un lugar misterioso, donde los animals grandes y chicos juegan a las escondidas! ¿Puedes imaginarte un tiburón escondido a plena luz? ¿Qué tal un pez payaso a la vista? ¿No lo crees? Entonces, sumérgete en la profundidad del océano azul con Jennifer Evans Kramer y ¡A las escondidas en el océano! Rodéate con las vibrantes ilustraciones de Gary R. Phillips. El océano es un antiguo, antiguo lugar, y los animales exóticos de las profundidades han aprendido a adaptarse a su medio ambiente para sobrevivir. ¿Puedes encontrar las criaturas escondidas en cada página? ¿O, quizás también a ti te puede engañar un disfraz bajo el agua?

Around One Log: Chipmunks, Spiders, and Creepy Insiders

Anthony D. Fredericks (author), Jennifer DiRubbio (illustrator)

Publisher: Dawn Publications ISBN: 9781584691976

Years after a great oak tree tumbled to the ground, a whole community of animals made it their home. Roly-polies and daddy longlegs prowled here and there, while chipmunks and salamanders dashed everywhere. Question: Is the old tree alive? Or is it now dead? This lighthearted book offers a marvelous insight into a unique and easily-accessible community of forest animals. Jennifer DiRubbio's vivid close-up illustrations bring these fascinating creatures to life. Parents and teachers: the author offers over a dozen "activities, projects, and lots of cool ideas" ranging from suggestions for an animal diary, readers theatre, finger play, and much more that will help make learning fun.

My Even Day

Doris Fisher & Dani Sneed (author), Karen Lee (illustrator)

Publisher: Arbordale Publishing ISBN: 9781607180241

In this delightful, rhythmic sequel to One Odd Day, the young boy awakens to find that it is another strange day--now everything is even, and his mother has two heads! This time, a school field trip to the zoo is dealt with in an odd, but even-handed manner. And, like its predecessor, children will spend hours looking for all the hidden objects in the incredible art. Square it all off with more "number fun" in the "For Creative Minds" section.

Bocas de animales

Mary Holland (author)

Publisher: Arbordale Publishing ISBN: 9781628555882

Cules son algunas de las cosas que nosotros podemos aprender sobre los animales tomando en cuenta la forma de sus bocas o picos? Qu podemos deducir sobre los animales con dientes filosos comparados con los que tienen dientes largos y planos? Existen algunos animales sin bocas? En esta secuela sobre las series de Adaptaciones de animales, la galardonada fotgrafa y educadora naturalista Mary Holland comparte las fascinantes bocas de los animales con los lectores de todas las edades.

Life Science

Saddleback Educational Publishing (author)

Publisher: Saddleback Educational Publishing ISBN: 9781612476780

The field of life science involves the study of living organisms, their organization, life processes, and the characteristics of all living things, such as plants, animals, and human beings. The reproducible activity pages supplement life science textbooks with stand-alone or coordinate one-page lessons. Sample activities include: Angiosperms and Gymnosperms, Animal Cell, Bacteria, Cell Functions, Comparing Fish/Amphibians/ Reptiles, Comparing Vertebrate Hearts, Ferns, and More!